The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2003, 07:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by WestMichiganBlue
R1 on 1B, goes to 2B on fly ball. F4 calls for ball, tags 2B and appeals to you that R1 left 1B early. What's your call?

You can not call R1 out because she wasn't tagged nor was 1B tagged. If you signal safe, then you are telling F4 "no, she did not leave early" and she will give up and return the ball to F1. If you make no signal and say "improper appeal" then you are coaching F4, and she may eventually figure it out and run over and tag R1. Now if you call R1 out, will you expect an earfull from the offensive coach claiming that you are helping the defense?

WMB
My call is "SAFE". The umpire is merely responding to the player's action and request.

Depending on the game (FP/SP) I will respectively allow play to continue (get the ball to the circle) or kill the ball if it is apparent the runner isn't going anywhere.

However, once I kill the ball (I'm sure the plate will need to be cleaned at this point ) and there's no obvious movement by R1 to return to 1B, I will now honor a dead ball appeal, if offered.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1