The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 17, 2003, 01:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 549
Post

Got a question for you guys

Question #97 R1 on 1B. after 2-3 pitches. F1 requests the count. While the umpire is responding, R1 attempts to advance and is thrown out by F2. The umpire should

a. call R1 out on the call at 2nd
b. call R1 out for leaving the base on a live ball
c. call time and return R1 to 1B as play is suspended while the umpire was performing his duties
d. call time and award R1 second base

I am told the correct answer on the test is "C". I have a hard time with this it just doesnt seem right and believe the correct answer should be "A". It does say in the rule book under section 10 that play is suspended while a umpire is performing his duties such as cleaning the plate, etc.
But 1st in this situation where the ball has not been return to the pitcher I dont believe the umpire should be performing duties that would suspend plays


Would like some convincing from you guys that you would agree with C. as the correct answer in this situation

Don
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1