The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   interferance on infield fly (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/75323-interferance-infield-fly.html)

BuggBob Fri Jul 22, 2011 08:18am

interferance on infield fly
 
Interferance on infield fly. One out or two?

Pop-up hit very close to 1st, but clearly fair. Ball lands on runners head, Clunk.

JefferMC Fri Jul 22, 2011 09:20am

This is a trick question... I just know it.

youngump Fri Jul 22, 2011 09:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JefferMC (Post 774211)
This is a trick question... I just know it.

Unless it is, To get two outs, you'd need to have intentional interference to break up some kind of double play. One out. It's the runner, award the batter-runner first base.

RKBUmp Fri Jul 22, 2011 10:31am

By infield fly, do you mean as in runners on 1st and 2nd infield fly, or simply a pop up in the infield?

If it were actually an infield fly, there is no placing the batter on 1st base, they are already out.

MD Longhorn Fri Jul 22, 2011 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 774225)
Unless it is, To get two outs, you'd need to have intentional interference to break up some kind of double play. One out. It's the runner, award the batter-runner first base.

Um. No.

MD Longhorn Fri Jul 22, 2011 10:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BuggBob (Post 774202)
Interferance on infield fly. One out or two?

Pop-up hit very close to 1st, but clearly fair. Ball lands on runners head, Clunk.

Well... which runner? BR is out the moment you say she is - with the assumption that the ball stays fair, which in this case it did.

So who did this ball hit? The retired BR? Barring intent to break up a DP, you have nothing.

R2 off the base (and assumedly before it's passed a fielder)? That runner is out too.

Dakota Fri Jul 22, 2011 10:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BuggBob (Post 774202)
Interferance on infield fly. One out or two?

Pop-up hit very close to 1st, but clearly fair. Ball lands on runners head, Clunk.

Was the runner still on the base?

IRISHMAFIA Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 774242)
Was the runner still on the base?

Congratulations, Tom. You are the first to ask the right question.

Altor Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:21am

Forgive the non-umpire, but isn't there an specific exception in the interference rule for a runner hit by an infield fly why touching the base?

Just looked it up in OBR, it's 7.08f: If the runner is touching the base, only the batter is out. If the runner is not on the base, both are out.

MD Longhorn Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 774244)
Congratulations, Tom. You are the first to ask the right question.

I sort of asked it. My answer implies that whether the runner's on the base matters, as it specifies that the runner could be out if off the base. I should have gone further though.

BretMan Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 774244)
Congratulations, Tom. You are the first to ask the right question.

Well, when I first read the question, I thunk it...just didn't type it!

Does that count? :rolleyes:

bainsey Fri Jul 22, 2011 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 774241)
R2 off the base (and assumedly before it's passed a fielder)? That runner is out too.

Taking it a step further, BR is already declared out on the infield fly. F3 misjudges the fly ball, runs forward in front of B2 (who is not touching any base), and the ball hits B2 on the head.

BuggBob Fri Jul 22, 2011 01:18pm

The ball actually landed on the Runner (R2), not the batter runner. Officalls called dead ball, batter was out on infield fly, runners returned to base at time of pitch. Our discussion was do you also call the interferer out?

JefferMC Fri Jul 22, 2011 01:42pm

Apparently, yes, unless he's touching a base.

MD Longhorn Fri Jul 22, 2011 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BuggBob (Post 774291)
The ball actually landed on the Runner (R2), not the batter runner. Officalls called dead ball, batter was out on infield fly, runners returned to base at time of pitch. Our discussion was do you also call the interferer out?

Yes, if the interferer is off base.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1