The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   interferance on infield fly (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/75323-interferance-infield-fly.html)

tcannizzo Fri Jul 22, 2011 04:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 774245)
Forgive the non-umpire, but isn't there an specific exception in the interference rule for a runner hit by an infield fly why touching the base?

Just looked it up in OBR, it's 7.08f: If the runner is touching the base, only the batter is out. If the runner is not on the base, both are out.

Here is a "get out of jail free card". :cool:
Can't use OBR on this board.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Jul 22, 2011 06:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 774304)
Yes, if the interferer is off base.

Well, now we have another question or two. Was the runner behind F3 or was another fielder in postion to field the ball AND get an out?

Altor Fri Jul 22, 2011 09:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcannizzo (Post 774344)
Here is a "get out of jail free card". :cool:
Can't use OBR on this board.

Doh! I swear I even looked to make sure it was the right board.

ontheway Sat Jul 23, 2011 02:44pm

I was under the impression that, ANY runner contacted by ANY batted ball that has not contacted a defensive player is immediately out?

IRISHMAFIA Sat Jul 23, 2011 03:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ontheway (Post 774523)
I was under the impression that, ANY runner contacted by ANY batted ball that has not contacted a defensive player is immediately out?

Nope

tcannizzo Sat Jul 23, 2011 07:35pm

What if BR already touched 1B?

IRISHMAFIA Sat Jul 23, 2011 08:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcannizzo (Post 774565)
What if BR already touched 1B?

Who cares, the BR is out

ontheway Sun Jul 24, 2011 10:15pm

ok let me rephrase. A base runner who is in fair territory, who is not in contact with a base, who is not already out; is hit by a batted ball that has yet to contact a defensive player. Is the runner out? if not please explain lol

SRW Mon Jul 25, 2011 12:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ontheway (Post 774753)
ok let me rephrase. A base runner who is in fair territory, who is not in contact with a base, who is not already out; is hit by a batted ball that has yet to contact a defensive player. Is the runner out? if not please explain lol

Not always. Imagine the fielder in front of the runner, but misses the ball, and no other defensive player has an opportunity to make an out. Runner's safe, (unless the runner intentionally interfered with the ball.)

MD Longhorn Mon Jul 25, 2011 08:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ontheway (Post 774753)
ok let me rephrase. A base runner who is in fair territory, who is not in contact with a base, who is not already out; is hit by a batted ball that has yet to contact a defensive player. Is the runner out? if not please explain lol

Forget that it's a fly ball. Rule on this the same way you would on a grounder. The answer to your question depends on where the fielder is and who else might have a play.

And what's the LOL for?

ontheway Mon Jul 25, 2011 12:57pm

I'm laughing at myself because I really should Know this.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1