The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 25, 2011, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
thanks for the reply. That was the call made on the field. The coaches argument that to tag a runner, they have to be tagged with the ball or a glove with the ball in it. He extrapolated this rule to a base tag as well. The umpire stuck with his call which apparently was right. Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 25, 2011, 03:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by sblood View Post
The coaches argument that to tag a runner, they have to be tagged with the ball or a glove with the ball in it. He extrapolated this rule to a base tag as well.
Coach needs to do a little reading...

Under the definition of "A Tag", there are two separate definitions. One is for a tag of a runner. The other is for the tag of a base. They are different...no matter how much extrapolating you do!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Base ASA - Fielder Drawn to fastpitch Softball 8 Wed Mar 22, 2006 07:39am
F1 as fielder and the LBR Dakota Softball 8 Sat Nov 20, 2004 09:28am
Contact with fielder harmbu Baseball 14 Mon May 17, 2004 09:08am
Legal Base Path? Just Curious Softball 7 Tue Apr 09, 2002 12:08pm
R1 lines up 12 feet behind first base and in front of the F3. Is this legal? Gre144 Baseball 2 Mon Jul 16, 2001 07:21am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1