The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 22, 2011, 05:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 241
Though this is definitely a HTBT moment, my quick rule of thumb is not only all that has already been stated, but also this: the catcher, who had to turn and set herself near a fence in FOUL territory to make a catch on a ball and then loses the flight of the ball is not ordinary effort and I wouldn't call IFF. In ASA and PONY (of those that I have officiated for), the rules ask you to call IFF at the ball's apex. In this case, I don't think I can make that decision at that time. Of course, ASA and PONY does allow for you to make the call after the fact. I know you had a question about NCAA and USSSA and the timing of this call - I can't answer those rule sets for you. Maybe someone else can.

Bottom line, HTBT, but no IFF on this one if I'm picturing it correctly. However, I don't think it could be argued either way you choose to call it as long as you can substantiate your call with the letter of the rule.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire


As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter.

Last edited by LIUmp; Wed Jun 22, 2011 at 05:18pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 23, 2011, 08:36am
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
I can find nothing in the NCAA rules book which indicates an umpire cannot subequently rule an IFF when not called initially. Note 2 in 11.18 indicates that the ruling is to be made when the batted ball reaches its apex. However, I interpret that to be a guide to the umpire to use as a timing tool in determining whether or not a batted ball is indeed an IFF. I could be wrong and would love to hear other intrepretations/opinions.

NF 8-2-9 note specifically allows for a "retroactive" IFF to be called. Just because NCAA does not specifically allow for it, I believe it is understood to be allowed.

For instance, if an umpire fails to declare an IFF on a clear-cut IFF and the infielder drops the ball and then gets a double-play, should those outs be allowed to stand just because the umpire failed to declare an IFF when the ball was at its apex? Of course not. That is a misinterpretation of the rule and clearly correctable. I believe the same holds true for a ball which was foul and subsequently makes a funky kick into fair territory. It wasn't an IFF until it became "fair." An umpire still needs to protect the offense from an undeserved double-play in this instance.

Just my 2 cents.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Numerous "fair catcthers" whitehat Football 2 Mon Sep 14, 2009 12:04pm
What is with the Fair Catch "Signal" ? jimpiano Football 7 Thu Oct 25, 2007 01:18pm
Big East on the UConn "Fair Catch" TXMike Football 3 Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:47pm
Can "FOUL" be made "FAIR"? PAT THE REF Baseball 60 Sat Feb 24, 2007 09:01pm
fair ball landing "beyond the base" John Robertson Softball 1 Mon Aug 28, 2006 03:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1