The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 18, 2011, 10:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
What Do You Have?

A situation blatantly ripped off from another forum...

One out. R1 on third, R2 on second. Batted ground ball is fielded by F6. In fielding the ball, F6 must move close to second base, such that second base is directly in-line with him and first base.

R2 never leaves the bag and is not attempting to advance. As F6 attempts to throw out the batter-runner at first, R2, while still standing on the base, raises his arms over his head. This blocks F6 from having a clear throw to first. F6 has to double-pump and adjust his position to get off the throw. By the time he does, it is too late to retire the batter-runner at first base.

You, as the umpire, judge that had R2 not raised his hands F6 would of had a clear chance to retire the batter-runner (ie: you judge that R2 has committed interference).

Let's forget about R1 for a second. He either crossed the plate before or after the interference happened.

What about R2 and the batter-runner? What do you have?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1