The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 14, 2011, 06:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gulf Coast Blue View Post
Different scenario........I know I have been taught at either a State NFHS or ASA National clinic that on a play at first where the BR steps on F3's foot while runner through the base......assume that some part of the BR's foot also touched the base.

I think Walt Sparks was the clinician.....

Joel
I've always wondered why any 1st baseman would even have their foot on the base.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 14, 2011, 06:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Gulf Coast of TX to Destin Fl
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
I've always wondered why any 1st baseman would even have their foot on the base.
Me either.....not a safe way to play the position. I had two daughters that played a considerable amount of first over the years........I know I never taught that. I don't recall either of them ever having a significant issue at first either.

If I recall, this question came up with regards to the correct way to handle if a BR who beat the throw, but missed 1st while running through. Someone brought up stepping on the fielders foot and would you handle it the same.

That is when the discussion warped into the scenario I cited.

Joel
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 14, 2011, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
ASA rules: If the catcher did not have possesion of the ball, then it is obstruction, the runner will be ruled safe when you apply it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 14, 2011, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyoump View Post
ASA rules: If the catcher did not have possesion of the ball, then it is obstruction, the runner will be ruled safe when you apply it.
Just as a matter of semantics...

You don't call the runner safe. Once the obstructed runner is tagged out prior to reaching their awarded base, you call a dead ball and make the award.

Why is this important? Well, if you just call "safe," the ball's still live when it shouldn't be.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 14, 2011, 02:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
Just as a matter of semantics...

You don't call the runner safe. Once the obstructed runner is tagged out prior to reaching their awarded base, you call a dead ball and make the award.

Why is this important? Well, if you just call "safe," the ball's still live when it shouldn't be.
You only kill the ball if, for some reason, the catcher proceeds to tag the runner - most of the time, this doesn't happen.

There's a lot more to this play that changes if you rule she didn't touch home and was obstructed. Consider the case where the throw doesn't beat her ... she's heading to the dugout, thinking she's safe. Play may proceed - and she might even make it completely to the dugout. You may have signalled obstruction and said it aloud. Are you going to make a point of pulling the player out of the dugout to touch home? How do you go about announcing your award without making it obvious you don't have her touching the plate.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 14, 2011, 03:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
You only kill the ball if, for some reason, the catcher proceeds to tag the runner - most of the time, this doesn't happen.
No, I'll only kill the ball if she's tagged out. If she's safe, I call safe.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
There's a lot more to this play that changes if you rule she didn't touch home and was obstructed. Consider the case where the throw doesn't beat her ... she's heading to the dugout, thinking she's safe. Play may proceed - and she might even make it completely to the dugout. You may have signalled obstruction and said it aloud. Are you going to make a point of pulling the player out of the dugout to touch home? How do you go about announcing your award without making it obvious you don't have her touching the plate.
It's no different than any other missed base. If she doesn't go back to touch the plate, she's subject to appeal. If she enters the dugout without touching the plate, that's on her coaches.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.

Last edited by NCASAUmp; Tue Jun 14, 2011 at 03:09pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 14, 2011, 04:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Gulf Coast of TX to Destin Fl
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
You only kill the ball if, for some reason, the catcher proceeds to tag the runner - most of the time, this doesn't happen.

There's a lot more to this play that changes if you rule she didn't touch home and was obstructed. Consider the case where the throw doesn't beat her ... she's heading to the dugout, thinking she's safe. Play may proceed - and she might even make it completely to the dugout. You may have signalled obstruction and said it aloud. Are you going to make a point of pulling the player out of the dugout to touch home? How do you go about announcing your award without making it obvious you don't have her touching the plate.
Quote:
Originally Posted by HugoTafurst View Post
Some 1st basemen aren't taught properly or are slow to learn..
Quote:
Originally Posted by HugoTafurst View Post
Unless you saw some part of her foot touch the plate
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
No, I'll only kill the ball if she's tagged out. If she's safe, I call safe.



It's no different than any other missed base. If she doesn't go back to touch the plate, she's subject to appeal. If she enters the dugout without touching the plate, that's on her coaches.
It is now truly a matter of semantics........in the OP, if the runner stepped on the foot of the catcher who had it on home plate......the runner touched the plate.

Have you all not been taught that any part of the ball that hits the black portion of the plate also hit the white. Same reasoning........

Argue obstruction, etal. all you want.....the runner was safe as soon as she crossed the plate. By my instructions (wished I knew where the notes were), stomping on the foot of F2 as she crossed is as good as touching. Now if you want to hijack the thread and talk about obstruction and missing the plate.....go ahead.

Joel
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 14, 2011, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
Just as a matter of semantics...

You don't call the runner safe. Once the obstructed runner is tagged out prior to reaching their awarded base, you call a dead ball and make the award.

Why is this important? Well, if you just call "safe," the ball's still live when it shouldn't be.
Unless you saw some part of her foot touch the plate
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 14, 2011, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
I've always wondered why any 1st baseman would even have their foot on the base.
Some 1st basemen aren't taught properly or are slow to learn..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touching bases in legal order Centerfield9 Softball 19 Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:47am
Legal Play at Home? cshs81 Baseball 34 Wed May 30, 2007 02:52pm
In jeopardy after touching home? Dakota Softball 14 Thu Nov 10, 2005 05:30pm
Coed slopitch and the plate line vs home plate SactoBlue Softball 14 Thu Oct 28, 2004 11:42am
Batter touching home plate while hitting - OBR jesmael Baseball 20 Thu Jun 17, 2004 02:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1