The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Legal touching of home plate? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/72295-legal-touching-home-plate.html)

Soco88 Mon Jun 13, 2011 10:43pm

Legal touching of home plate?
 
R1 is on third running home on a ground ball by B3 to second base. Catcher is in process of fielding throw from 2nd baseman and has left foot on plate. Runner R1 steps on the catchers’ foot that is touching the plate, no other part of the runners body comes in contact with home plate. Did she legally touch home plate? Or did the catchers’ foot prohibit her from touching the plate?

The umpire made no signal. The runner R1 attempted to retouch home plate and was tagged out. At this point the umpire called R1 out.

NCASAUmp Mon Jun 13, 2011 10:52pm

So the catcher already had the ball when R1 stepped on her foot?

Sounds like the catcher had a right to be there, and it sounds like R1 didn't touch home plate the first time around.

Soco88 Mon Jun 13, 2011 10:58pm

Catcher did not have possession of the ball. The ball was in flight to the catcher.

NCASAUmp Mon Jun 13, 2011 11:25pm

What ruleset? ASA? USSSA? NFHS?

Soco88 Tue Jun 14, 2011 12:19am

Asa

Gulf Coast Blue Tue Jun 14, 2011 03:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Soco88 (Post 765407)
R1 is on third running home on a ground ball by B3 to second base. Catcher is in process of fielding throw from 2nd baseman and has left foot on plate. Runner R1 steps on the catchers’ foot that is touching the plate, no other part of the runners body comes in contact with home plate. Did she legally touch home plate? Or did the catchers’ foot prohibit her from touching the plate?

The umpire made no signal. The runner R1 attempted to retouch home plate and was tagged out. At this point the umpire called R1 out.

If the runners foot was on top of F2's foot on top of the plate.......I am going to assume that some part of the runners foot touched the plate.

Joel

NCASAUmp Tue Jun 14, 2011 06:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gulf Coast Blue (Post 765452)
If the runners foot was on top of F2's foot on top of the plate.......I am going to assume that some part of the runners foot touched the plate.

Joel

I would say it all depends. We've seen plenty of players slide into a base that a fielder blocks with their foot.

It's up to the judgment of the umpire to determine whether the foot touched the plate or base.

HugoTafurst Tue Jun 14, 2011 06:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gulf Coast Blue (Post 765452)
If the runners foot was on top of F2's foot on top of the plate.......I am going to assume that some part of the runners foot touched the plate.

Joel

I think many umpires would do the same ("see" the touch or assume the touch of the plate) ;)

However, aftrer further clarification (ASA, F2 did not have the ball), sounds like an obstruction call anyway...

NCASAUmp Tue Jun 14, 2011 06:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 765491)
However, aftrer further clarification (ASA, F2 did not have the ball), sounds like an obstruction call anyway...

Exactly what I was getting at.

Gulf Coast Blue Tue Jun 14, 2011 06:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 765490)
I would say it all depends. We've seen plenty of players slide into a base that a fielder blocks with their foot.

It's up to the judgment of the umpire to determine whether the foot touched the plate or base.

Different scenario........I know I have been taught at either a State NFHS or ASA National clinic that on a play at first where the BR steps on F3's foot while runner through the base......assume that some part of the BR's foot also touched the base.

I think Walt Sparks was the clinician.....

Joel

IRISHMAFIA Tue Jun 14, 2011 06:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gulf Coast Blue (Post 765493)
Different scenario........I know I have been taught at either a State NFHS or ASA National clinic that on a play at first where the BR steps on F3's foot while runner through the base......assume that some part of the BR's foot also touched the base.

I think Walt Sparks was the clinician.....

Joel

I've always wondered why any 1st baseman would even have their foot on the base.

Gulf Coast Blue Tue Jun 14, 2011 06:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 765495)
I've always wondered why any 1st baseman would even have their foot on the base.

Me either.....not a safe way to play the position. I had two daughters that played a considerable amount of first over the years........I know I never taught that. I don't recall either of them ever having a significant issue at first either.

If I recall, this question came up with regards to the correct way to handle if a BR who beat the throw, but missed 1st while running through. Someone brought up stepping on the fielders foot and would you handle it the same.

That is when the discussion warped into the scenario I cited.

Joel

wyoump Tue Jun 14, 2011 12:47pm

ASA rules: If the catcher did not have possesion of the ball, then it is obstruction, the runner will be ruled safe when you apply it.

Gulf Coast Blue Tue Jun 14, 2011 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 765491)
I think many umpires would do the same ("see" the touch or assume the touch of the plate) ;)

However, aftrer further clarification (ASA, F2 did not have the ball), sounds like an obstruction call anyway...

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 765492)
Exactly what I was getting at.

Quite possibly.......but that would be moot since I had the runner touching the plate.......:cool:

Joel

NCASAUmp Tue Jun 14, 2011 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wyoump (Post 765582)
ASA rules: If the catcher did not have possesion of the ball, then it is obstruction, the runner will be ruled safe when you apply it.

Just as a matter of semantics...

You don't call the runner safe. Once the obstructed runner is tagged out prior to reaching their awarded base, you call a dead ball and make the award.

Why is this important? Well, if you just call "safe," the ball's still live when it shouldn't be.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1