![]() |
|
|||
Re: Forgot to say . . . . .
Quote:
The time permitted is purely umpire's judgment, but, like a "missed tag, missed plate" play, I'm going to hesitate prior to making a ruling. In the given scenario, it seems that the defense jumped right on the appeal, not giving the umpire or offense any time to respond. Thus, the runner would be permitted to return an touch 2B and then would be awarded home which means the runner would then need to retouch 3B as she advanced to home on the award. BTW, an umpire who rules in this manner is not overturning, reversing, contradicting or doing anything remotely of the kind. That is a misconception often held by those fellas who work with the boys and that little hard ball. The umpire is merely making independent ruling(s) on totally independent plays.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
Bookmarks |
|
|