The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   2 outs defense leaves field...call? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/70082-2-outs-defense-leaves-field-call.html)

youngump Thu May 19, 2011 09:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 759574)
OK, been thinking about what I said earlier about ignoring the touch of third because the runner was not actually running the bases. And I agree it's problematical.

However, take this a half-step further.

Instead of third - for some reason R1 heads toward home, perhaps to pick up a discarded bat or something. She inadvertently touches home plate, then proceeds into the dugout, with the defensive team leaving the field as well.

If you consider touching 3rd in the OP as a baserunning touch, where runner needs to return to 2nd before 1st... then in this sitch, her touch of home was a SCORE. The defense leaving the field would mean they cannot appeal the 2 missed bases.

Except there are only two outs. And I'm pretty sure when you bring them out, and the runner from first trots back out and you tell everybody that she's scored that during the ensuing storm you'll end up getting an appeal.

What else are you going to do? Call her out for leaving the field and ignore the fact that she touched home? You could get her for running the bases in reverse order. End result will be the same in all three, no run and three outs. And you'll only seem crazy if you make the call that seems to be supported by rule.

MD Longhorn Thu May 19, 2011 09:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 759590)
Except there are only two outs. And I'm pretty sure when you bring them out, and the runner from first trots back out and you tell everybody that she's scored that during the ensuing storm you'll end up getting an appeal.

What else are you going to do? Call her out for leaving the field and ignore the fact that she touched home? You could get her for running the bases in reverse order. End result will be the same in all three, no run and three outs. And you'll only seem crazy if you make the call that seems to be supported by rule.

Unfortunately, this is one of those cases where common sense is not the correct call. I'm referring to the rule as written, not common sense or whether the umpire would seem crazy or not.

Dakota Thu May 19, 2011 09:31am

The rule about the defense leaving the field of play removing the right of appeal is INTENDED to be applied at the end of an inning / game, but this is not the end of the inning. But, the rule does not actually SAY end of the inning / game (ASA), so a literal application could nullify some of the potential craziness! :)

Regarding touching bases, we can only rule on what players actually DO, not what they intended to do. We don't recognize accidental appeals, because an appeal (by rule) must be properly made, however, we do recognize accidental base touches for any other purpose by either the defense or offense.

In the case of the runner touching 3rd, I don't see how you could "correctly" ignore that; but the chances are, the defense won't be smart enough to appeal it.

With touching home, youngump, are you suggesting ignoring the touch of home to make life easier on the umpire? ;)

This play is already a cluster f---, so you may as well be correct!

youngump Thu May 19, 2011 09:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 759594)
With touching home, youngump, are you suggesting ignoring the touch of home to make life easier on the umpire? ;)

No, just pointing out that it would make life easier. I don't think there's a rulebook leg to stand on not scoring the run and calling her out on appeal so that's what I'd do.

Dakota Thu May 19, 2011 09:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 759596)
No, just pointing out that it would make life easier. I don't think there's a rulebook leg to stand on not scoring the run and calling her out on appeal so that's what I'd do.

Note the smilie... I was pokin' at ya!

IRISHMAFIA Thu May 19, 2011 11:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 759574)
OK, been thinking about what I said earlier about ignoring the touch of third because the runner was not actually running the bases. And I agree it's problematical.

However, take this a half-step further.

Instead of third - for some reason R1 heads toward home, perhaps to pick up a discarded bat or something. She inadvertently touches home plate, then proceeds into the dugout, with the defensive team leaving the field as well.

If you consider touching 3rd in the OP as a baserunning touch, where runner needs to return to 2nd before 1st... then in this sitch, her touch of home was a SCORE. The defense leaving the field would mean they cannot appeal the 2 missed bases.

If you are not going to honor an incidental touch of the base by the defense..............................

rwest Fri May 20, 2011 10:04am

If I'm picturing this correctly, I don't believe this is a score
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 759574)
OK, been thinking about what I said earlier about ignoring the touch of third because the runner was not actually running the bases. And I agree it's problematical.

However, take this a half-step further.

Instead of third - for some reason R1 heads toward home, perhaps to pick up a discarded bat or something. She inadvertently touches home plate, then proceeds into the dugout, with the defensive team leaving the field as well.

If you consider touching 3rd in the OP as a baserunning touch, where runner needs to return to 2nd before 1st... then in this sitch, her touch of home was a SCORE. The defense leaving the field would mean they cannot appeal the 2 missed bases.

Is R1 now the runner at 1st? Are you saying she didn't advance to 2nd or 3rd but went to home to pick up a bat and inadvertently stepped on home? If so how can this be a score? In order to be a score she has to touch 1st, 2nd, 3rd and home based on rule 5.5.A.1. Are you suggesting we have to assume she touched 2nd and 3rd and force the defense to appeal she missed either of those bags? Just trying to understand how you reasoned this one a score.

youngump Fri May 20, 2011 10:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 759884)
Is R1 now the runner at 1st? Are you saying she didn't advance to 2nd or 3rd but went to home to pick up a bat and inadvertently stepped on home? If so how can this be a score? In order to be a score she has to touch 1st, 2nd, 3rd and home based on rule 5.5.A.1. Are you suggesting we have to assume she touched 2nd and 3rd and force the defense to appeal she missed either of those bags? Just trying to understand how you reasoned this one a score.

Yes, that's what we're saying. It appears that once she touches a subsequent base she must be determined to have missed the intervening bases and reached the succeeding base.

MD Longhorn Fri May 20, 2011 10:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 759884)
Is R1 now the runner at 1st? Are you saying she didn't advance to 2nd or 3rd but went to home to pick up a bat and inadvertently stepped on home? If so how can this be a score? In order to be a score she has to touch 1st, 2nd, 3rd and home based on rule 5.5.A.1. Are you suggesting we have to assume she touched 2nd and 3rd and force the defense to appeal she missed either of those bags? Just trying to understand how you reasoned this one a score.

Actually, I'm reasoning the opposite and using this sitch to make my point. Read up higher. The runner (from first) ran across the diamond on the way to the dugout... during what was actually a live ball. She went near or touched 3rd (depending on which what-if you're reading) - my point was that I'm not positive it matters... and that if it DOES matter that she touched third and you're now going to insist she retouch 2nd before heading to first - then in the situation I posted above, you're going to have to score the run instead of putting the girl back on first base... and wait for an appeal for missing 2nd and 3rd that may not come if the coach can't keep himself in the game.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1