The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 06, 2003, 07:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Cool

Greymule,
Nice post, here are my observations on the situtations.

1. Runner slides into 3B. The base moves 2 feet across the line, and the runner ends up another 2 feet past the base and is tagged. Safe, stationary base would have slowed the runner, and as ASA 8.9N states, Runner is considered to
have followed the base.


2. Runner slides into 3B and knocks the base 15 feet away. The runner ends up past where the base originally lay and is tagged. Safe, same as question 1. As long as he/she
made no other effort to go past other than slide. ASA 8.9N.


3. Runner slides into 3B and knocks it into the coach's box. Runner goes over and stands on the base and is tagged.
Safe, However, no need to follow base and in this case,
runner did not attempt to
advance further.


4. Runner slides into 3B and knocks it a few inches across the line. Runner is tagged standing on the base.Safe

5. Runner slides into 3B and hooks the base with his foot. Both runner and base skid 6 feet across the line, with the runner still in contact when he is tagged. Again ASA 8.9N.

6. Runner slides into 3B and hooks the base with his foot. Both runner and base skid 6 feet across the line, but the runner loses contact and is tagged. Same as 5.

7. R1 on 1B and B1 hits a double. As R1 passes 2B, he inadvertently knocks it 6 feet toward center field. B1 stands on the base and is tagged. Safe.

8. Same play, but B1 stands on the spot where the base originally lay when he is tagged. Safe

9. Runner rounds 2B and dislodges the base 3 feet. He then dives back into 2B, but when he is tagged, he is clearly not where the base originally lay. Hmmmmmm. Will agree with Mike, HTBT, probably safe. JMO

10. As F6 covers 2B on hit to the outfield, he knocks the base 3 feet toward right field. On a close play, the runner slides into the moved base as F6 is making the play where the base originally lay. Safe.

The only way I, personally, would call one out on these
situtations would be if they attempted to go beyond the dis-
loged base and advance to another.



glen






`
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1