The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 28, 2011, 04:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 20
Smile

Thanks for the clarification on 10-2-m. So what should have happened is for the foul call to stand, everyone goes back and we have a strike on B3 and presumably a very unhappy OC over a blown fair/foul call.

But that's not what happened, so my next question is what recourse, if any, does the DC have at this point? There's nothing to appeal is there?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 28, 2011, 05:14pm
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
The DC can question, stomp, cuss and spit (might not ought to!) but you are correct, there is nothing to protest. It was poor umpiring mechanics, not the mis-application of a playing rule that you are dealing with.

Oh yeah Cajun, I worked opening day rec 10U stuff saturday. It is a love/hate type thing, love the games and kids, but hate that we have digressed to using pitching machines! Easy games though but really dumbs things down.

That machine can put some funky spins on the ball. If ever there were a "spinning squibber" I had at least 5 saturday. One guy was adamant that a high pop up that hit foul behind the catcher could never roll into fair territory. It did, I pointed it fair, no one moved for a while!

Last edited by JEL; Mon Mar 28, 2011 at 05:21pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 28, 2011, 05:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by JEL View Post
The DC can question, stomp, cuss and spit (might not ought to!) but you are correct, there is nothing to protest. It was poor umpiring mechanics, not the mis-application of a playing rule that you are dealing with.
I think I disagree. Assuming it were a tournament setting where an appeal would be rulled on immediately, I certainly could see upholding a DC's protest.

Something along the lines:
Blue ruled the ball foul on the field. When a foul is ruled, the play is dead and all play stops. But the Blue erred in allowing ensuing action to count. Thus me misapplied the rule pertaining to foul balls.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 29, 2011, 02:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Almere (NL)
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
I think I disagree. Assuming it were a tournament setting where an appeal would be rulled on immediately, I certainly could see upholding a DC's protest.

Something along the lines:
Blue ruled the ball foul on the field. When a foul is ruled, the play is dead and all play stops. But the Blue erred in allowing ensuing action to count. Thus me misapplied the rule pertaining to foul balls.
Yep, correct! If I call "Foul" and then "correct" it by pointing fair or worse let play proceed and let the play stand, at least one coach will protest AND win that protest!
__________________
Sander




Ik ben niet gek, doe alleen alsof! Gaat me goed af toch?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 29, 2011, 11:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
did f3 touch the ball in fair territory? let's see we have

ball clearly curving for the foul line - hence in fair territory

ump rules foul at same time

f3 in fair territory boots (kicks or misplays ball) into foul terr.

I want that cleared up. My thinking is the ball was touched in fair territory.

So

I got a --- up that i am correcting.

batter awarded 1b, others advanced if forced.

coach: i screwd up. this is the solution. let's play ball and i walk back to my position.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 29, 2011, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronald View Post
did f3 touch the ball in fair territory? let's see we have

ball clearly curving for the foul line - hence in fair territory

ump rules foul at same time

f3 in fair territory boots (kicks or misplays ball) into foul terr.

I want that cleared up. My thinking is the ball was touched in fair territory.

So

I got a --- up that i am correcting.

batter awarded 1b, others advanced if forced.

coach: i screwd up. this is the solution. let's play ball and i walk back to my position.
In HS ball you can't do that. Once declared "foul" and it touches the ground it's forever foul. 2-16-1-e
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 29, 2011, 01:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
I think that you're referencing the FED baseball rule book there, Rich.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1