![]() |
|
|
|||
Someone on this forum gets after me if I don't identify the post I'm responding to.
![]() ![]() ![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Giving a high 5 is physically congratulating. Nothing in the rules against that.
![]() Besides, in ASA, the ball is dead on a home run. Anyone can physically assist a runner when the ball's dead.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
The following play was posted on the ASA website July 2010, so you can get an out during a home run.
Rule 8 Section 7E The Runner is out: Play: (Fast Pitch) with one out B2 hits an over the fence home run. While rounding 1B the runner stumbles and appears to have been injured. The first base coach (a) rushes on to the field to make sure B2 is ok. While checking the player for injuries the coach directs B2 back to 1B because they missed the base or (b) after B2 gets up and continues to 2B, the coach sprints onto the field, grabs B2 and tells B2 to come back to touch 1B. Ruling: Rule 8 Section 7E addresses an offensive team member other than a runner that physically assists a runner while the ball is live. There is also an exception for when a runner scores and misses home plate. An over the fence home run considered, by definition of a Dead Ball, as a ball that is not in play. We have other rules that apply when runners must run the bases on over the fence home runs. A home run awards the batter 4 bases without liability to be put out except under appeal or protest. In the case of (a) once the coach came onto the field to check a possible injured play the umpire should call time to see if the player needed to be replaced. (Rule 4, Section 10) If the coach helps the player up and directs them to touch first base again there is not violation of the rules. In (b) the coach specifically went onto the field to grab the runner and assisted B2 in returning to touch 1B. In doing so the coach has taken away the ability of the defense to appeal the runner for missing 1B and therefore should be called out for a violation of Rule 8 Section 7E. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Baserunner physically assisting another runner | #888 | Baseball | 10 | Mon Jan 10, 2011 01:09pm |
Coach physically intimidating an opposing player | CoachJW | Basketball | 10 | Sun Jun 06, 2010 10:41am |
coach physically assists runner | jodibuck | Softball | 2 | Mon Feb 09, 2009 09:37am |
Physically assisting a runner or not? | C'monBlue | Baseball | 9 | Tue Jul 06, 2004 07:52am |
Physically fit/CPR | chels | Basketball | 21 | Thu Apr 12, 2001 07:08pm |