The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 14, 2002, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
The recent attention paid on this site to runners making an immediate attempt to return to a missed base led me to re-read the ASA case book. Unlike in the various levels of baseball, in ASA such a runner can be put out on appeal immediately after missing a base.

Case book 8.8-13:

R1 on 3B, R2 on 2B, R3 on 1B. F1 fields a ground ball and throws to F2 at the plate after R1 has crossed but missed home plate. F2 appeals to umpire: (a) as R1 is returning, (b) [after] R1 has returned home. Ruling: In (a) R1 is out on appeal, in (b) the appeal is denied.

Of course, (b) is obvious, but notice that in (a) the fielder does not have to tag a runner returning to touch home plate.

Case book 8.8-34:

R1 slides into home plate, but misses it. [How do you slide into home plate and miss it?] F2 misses the tag. Ruling: After a brief hesitation, the umpire should make a "safe" call. If the catcher then tags the runner or the plate appealing that R1 missed home, R1 should be declared out.

Until now, I would have called these plays according to the baseball rule and required a tag by the fielder.
A runner misses the plate when they execute a hook slide in an attempt to use as much of the basepath as allowed and avoid a sweep tag by the catcher.

What you need to remember about ASA is that a runner is assumed to have touched a base once they pass that base. This is what allows the runner to be ruled safe, yet still keeps the possibility for appeal open to the defense.

I've had many a baseball umpire insist that they will not make a call on the play above until the plate is touched by the runner or the runner is tagged out by a defender. They believe the ASA play places an embarrassment upon the umpire as it looks like the umpire is "changing" a call.

No matter how much I have tried to explain that ASA's mechanics literally makes the play two separate calls, some just cannot accept it that way.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1