The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 11, 2002, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 517
"Each runner including the batter-runner is awarded:

One base:
If forced from the base occupied by a following runnr who must advance because of batter receives a fourth ball, is hit by a pitched ball..."

USSSA 9.11.D.4.

Fed and Pony should have the same clause, but my books are in the car and it is raining.

The baseball answer is clear. NAPBL rulling (I think), the runner is entitled to the next base on the award, (as in the above softball rule) and therefore any outs made beyond the base awared are not relavant to preceeding runners attaining their base. The statement was that R3 was entitled to advance to home due to the award.

The rule requiring all awarded bases to be leagally run would not negate a force out from negating the run.(USSSA 9.9)

Since the rules are congruent on this from baseball and softball, the interpertation should be the same. I would score the run if a following runner was put out after reaching the awarded base but before the run scores on the awarded base.

Roger Greene
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1