The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 08, 2002, 07:56am
Tap Tap is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 96
dislodged base

I think Dakota is correct in ASA, specifically Rule 8-9-N. Since I do more USSSA, I must have been thinking of the USSSA Rule 8, Sec. 12 states, in part:

"If a runner sliding into a base is adjudged to be safe by the Umpire before dislodging the base, he remains safe by either staying at the position the base is supposed to occupy, or by remaining in contact with the base, The runner puts himself in jeopardy, when he attempts to advance to the next base, if he then tries to return to the misplaced base, it is entirely within the Umpire's jurisdiction to declare the runner safe, or out, if he is tagged with the ball." [typos in original]

Even under that rule, which is poorly written (and poorly punctuated), after looking at it again and for common sense reasons, I would not call a runner out unless he attempted to advance to the next base (or go all the way back to the prior base). The USSSA rule arguably leaves a gap for where the base runner does not attempt to leave the base, but somehow ends up between the dislodged base and the peg where it used to be. Given that ambiguity, I would give the runner the benefit of the doubt if he made no attempt to leave the base.

I think the ASA rule is better written and makes more sense and I agree with Dakota.

[Edited by Tap on Oct 8th, 2002 at 07:59 AM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1