The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 09, 2010, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 870
I don't see any awarded bases - unless the ball was within a step and reach of F5 when R1 contacted the ball - in which case I would have INT on R1.
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 09, 2010, 10:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
What a difference one vowel makes. The ball shouts, "out of play." I don't think thats a regulation ball. Can you have verbal interference on the ball?
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 09, 2010, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
If it's ASA, "step and reach" isn't part of the decision, and neither is the runner's utterance. Besides, this is a deflected ball, so unless F5 has a chance to make an out and the runner makes contact with him (or deliberately contacts the ball), there's no INT.

There's no awarding the runner home, either, half way or not. It's the runner's tough luck if he trips over a deflected ball.

I would have no call here.

If the play is from Iraq, however, ASA rules wouldn't apply. Most leagues in Iraq use YSISF rules (which also cover how to rule if the ball in fact does shout anything).
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!

Last edited by greymule; Thu Sep 09, 2010 at 10:33am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 09, 2010, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
I was thinking about posting this play here, but Irish beat me to it!

I also thought that if I did, the answers would be all over the board. So far, they seem to be. That was my thought for two reasons: This may be a play not specifically covered in the rule book, and; The description posted is kind of vague on a few points.

Without adding my two cents right away, I'll just add a couple of comments:

- Game was played under ASA rules by US military personnel.

- The umpire calling this play did not rule interference, so you can disregard that as part of your call.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Public Address announcer/ Play by play Terrapins Fan Basketball 34 Sun Dec 13, 2009 12:20pm
Force play or time play? Rita C Baseball 44 Sat Dec 05, 2009 10:12am
Hi from Iraq Kelvin green Basketball 14 Fri Jun 06, 2003 05:09pm
Play-by-Play Commentary FC IC Basketball 2 Sat Dec 21, 2002 12:28am
CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? David Clausi Basketball 6 Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1