The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 02, 2010, 07:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
ASA Senior Ball - Second Plate

Runners on 2B & 3B, no outs.

Line drive to the outfield drops for a hit. R2 is was moving on contact while R1 hesitated to to make sure ball wasn't caught. F8 is up quickly with the ball and throwing home.

R2 catches R1 just as they both cross the commitment line, but the throw beats both as the catcher receives the ball while touching the original plate prior to either runner touching the second plate.

Is your call:

1) Both are out
2) R1 ruled out, R2 scores
3) No outs since neither runner was tagged
4) Huh? What do you mean there are two home plates?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 02, 2010, 08:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
Sure looks like (1), both are out.

But Irish wouldn't have posted it if it were that simple. What did I miss?
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 02, 2010, 09:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
The key is that both passed the commitment line.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 02, 2010, 11:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Personally, my answer is 4.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 02, 2010, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 112
Okay, I'll take a long-shot at this.

Since both runners passed the commitment line, and since the second home plate replaces the "tagging" of the runner, I vote for #1, double play. My thinking (huh?) is that this would be the equivalent to two runners coming in to home plate and the catcher tags both runners prior to either of them touching home plate.

Now Mike, I'm hoping that since you only gave us 4 choices, the answer is one of them and not a 5th choice that you left out. Or is the 5th choice R2 not only "caught up" with R1, but also passed him?


Serg
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 02, 2010, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by SergioJ View Post
Or is the 5th choice R2 not only "caught up" with R1, but also passed him?
There would still be two outs though--R2 out for passing, R1 out on the commitment play.

Around my neck of the woods, I only see two home plates in a variant of slo-pitch where the catcher must play the original plate and the runner(s) must go for the second plate. In effect, the second plate acts as the scoring line (safe line) in coed slo-pitch.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 03, 2010, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
Personally, my answer is 4.
That was the one I was going with!
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2010, 07:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
From NUS staff:

The ruling should be that both the runners are out.

The catcher should thoretically touch his home plate twice to retire those runners, however, if he kept his foot in contact with the plate for a reasonable amount of time, both runners should be declared out.

The 2nd home plate was designed to protect the runners and the catcher from any collision situations. Rule 8, Section 9D covers the use of the 2nd Home plate. Letter #6 states that once he passes the committment line he cannot return. If he goes back he is out, and if the catcher's tag of his home plate beats the runner reaching the 2nd home plate, that runner is also out. The description in your play fits in with the above.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 09, 2010, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
From NUS staff:

The ruling should be that both the runners are out.

The catcher should thoretically touch his home plate twice to retire those runners, however, if he kept his foot in contact with the plate for a reasonable amount of time, both runners should be declared out.

The 2nd home plate was designed to protect the runners and the catcher from any collision situations. Rule 8, Section 9D covers the use of the 2nd Home plate. Letter #6 states that once he passes the committment line he cannot return. If he goes back he is out, and if the catcher's tag of his home plate beats the runner reaching the 2nd home plate, that runner is also out. The description in your play fits in with the above.
So, if he just did a quick stab of home plate or runs across it only the first runner is out?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 09, 2010, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
So, if he just did a quick stab of home plate or runs across it only the first runner is out?
I had troubles with that as well. I mean, as a parallel, if you had two runners side-by-side, you could conceivably tag both of them with your glove at the same time and have both of them out. You shouldn't need to do two separate steps to get the outs at HP.

To me, the rule is clear: if both runners have passed the commitment line, they're both called out when the defensive player has the ball and touches home plate. There should be no other required action by the defense.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 09, 2010, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
So, if he just did a quick stab of home plate or runs across it only the first runner is out?
Are you going to call it that way?

I'm not. I agree that the play should apply to all runners. Don't like the use of the second plate, but if that is what these folks want, they need to live with the rule.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F2 drops ball on tag while blocking plate DTQ_Blue Softball 97 Tue Jul 15, 2008 09:59am
Ball hits plate, then batter njdevs00cup Baseball 4 Sat May 12, 2007 08:16pm
ball hits home plate off bat the__coach Softball 6 Mon Jun 07, 2004 04:05pm
Ball hits plate johnref Baseball 8 Wed Jun 05, 2002 09:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1