![]() |
|
|
|||
And we have established in a current thread that there is a clear and concise rule for interfering with the catch of a routine foul fly; both the runner and batter are out. Even if you don't need that fourth out, the batter has completed the at-bat, and would no longer be up.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Quote:
The OP has asked for the FED interpretation. |
|
|||
Quote:
Big Slick is absolutely correct; I gave the ASA answer. In ASA, B5 would bat next. The FED answer is, again, different. 7-4-12 makes clear that the batter B4 is not out when a runner R3 interferes with a foul fly, just the runner. So, it is a dead ball, foul ball, and the B4's at-bat has not ended. With R3 making the 3rd out, same batter B4 starts the next inning. I like the correction made by ASA on this one; seems a fairer result, to me. I could see this being done intentionally, as a strategic option, to keep a more dangerous batter up (with less than two outs), up to start the next inning, or to keep a better runner placed at 2nd if the next inning is to be a tiebreaker inning.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF Last edited by AtlUmpSteve; Wed Aug 25, 2010 at 03:18pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() ![]() ![]()
__________________
Larry |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn... |
|
|||
Quote:
what would you have done with B4 had there been less than 2 outs. There's where the answer comes from.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
![]() What else could it be? Not awarded first on a foul ball, not out by rule. Foul ball, add 1 strike to the count, continue at-bat.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Quote:
B4 up at bat in next inning, by NFHS rule |
|
|||
Quote:
What confuses me is that if the 3rd base coach had interfered, the batter is out (7-4-12) and clearly B5 bats first next inning. But if R3 interferes, it doesn't seem like B4 has completed her "Time at Bat" as defined in 2-60, which says, "The time at bat is the period beginning when a batter first enters the batter's box and continues until she is put out or becomes a batter-runner." So that makes it seem like B4 would bat again. But that seems inconsistent with the 3rd base coach scenario. Hence, I asked the question on this forum. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
1 pitcher every inning | sixlehs | Baseball | 16 | Sat May 05, 2007 11:41pm |
Last out of inning | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 70 | Tue Apr 12, 2005 08:28am |
7th inning stretch | ppahr | Baseball | 14 | Wed Sep 03, 2003 09:42am |
Between Inning Mechanics | whiskers_ump | Softball | 10 | Mon Feb 17, 2003 02:15pm |
5 inning rule. | BDUGAN | Softball | 0 | Mon May 08, 2000 11:08am |