![]() |
Left early on a caught fly
Runner on 3rd, creeping up the line on the pitch, which is lined to F5 who catches, lands on the bag, rolls, sees R1 scrambling to get back and dives to tag the bag or the player, as R1 beats F5 back to the bag.
What do you have? |
Nothing. F5 falling on the base does not constitute making an appeal. It is also easy to see even if the DC comes out and says she was making a live ball appeal, then why was she trying to get to the base or runner to tag them? Dave
|
I would have said out on first contact with the bag but shpiwreckeds post has me leaning the other way. but get ready for the dc to blow a gasket, whether you explained it correctly or not
|
I guess the main question to the OP is "can there be such a thing as an accidental appeal?!"
While we all know that most players are unaware that they are actually making an appeal when they make a live ball appeal on a runner leaving a base early, there is still a deliberate action that accompanies the appeal in most cases, such as a throw to the base or a tag of the base/runner by the fielder. This makes me lean toward Shipwreck's summation of the problem, however, I am open to the concept of "accidental appeal" if someone can support it by rule. So, on the OP as written, I would probably have to go with nothing but the runner being safe as she apparently beat the appeal back to the bag. |
OK. I admit I significantly dumbed down the situation to get at the heart of the matter.
Here's the actual situation that happened on Sunday. Runner on first, stealing. Looping liner/low fly ball to F3. R1 keeps going past 2nd as F3 makes a shoestring catch, stumbles - hitting the bag on the way - then fires to third to get the out, throwing it over the fence. I award home, DC requests time and comes out to argue that there was an appeal at 1st. I get with BU, he confirms we have the same thing - no appeal, contact with the bag was accidental. He continues to have a fit and eventually ejects himself. UIC, who was there, tells me we blew the call three times - once on the touch of first (His words: "it's not an appeal, it's a force"), 2nd - the award should have been 2nd base, since "the runner legally had to return... and his two bases were 1st and 2nd; and 3rd for not calling the out on the appeal during the argument (DC never says, "runner left early" or any words I could stretch into a dead ball appeal - just "my fielder touched the bag", etc.) I promised UIC I would post this here, and that I would post in this way - first as "what I was calling an accidental appeal", then with the full sitch. He promised he'd check here to see the "verdict". This was my first time working for this UIC. And with no worry of offense, honestly ... my last. (Sorry sir ... I can't work in an area where the UIC's rules knowledge is this far off.) |
Quote:
Case 1: By definition, a force can only occur due to the batter becoming a batter-runner. Once the ball is caught, she is no longer a batter runner. Just because a defender may step on a bag, does not mean it's a force. Case 2: Where was the runner at the time of the throw? If she was between 2nd and 3rd, the award is, indeed, home. However, that does not absolve her of her baserunning responsibilities. If she doesn't tag up at 1B, she's in jeapordy of being called out on proper appeal (which, in ASA, requires a player to say or do something .... not a coach.) Case 3: See the portion in parenthesis above. Would ya come work for me, Mike?? :-) |
I'm with RadioBlue on the answer here, but I don't think the first situation is quite as clear cut. (Though I agree with the result in the specifics given.)
Suppose we have R1 leaving clearly early. The ball is caught with the runner heading back. The runner is about to the bag and the fielder takes the ball appears to accidentally get the bag and then clearly says "she left early" just after the runner slides in. In this case, I'd take the touch as part of an appeal timely made because her addressing me shows she new what she was doing and I don't think you have to make it clear while appealing. Now in the case given, I distinguish the logic because it's still not clear an appeal is being executed. Since the runner is off the bag, trying to tag the runner may be just that, an attempt to tag a runner who is in jeopardy of being retired. If instead of trying to dive back the fielder indicated that she was appealing before the runner got back, I'd be inclined to honor that appeal unless something happened to make them seem like separate events. ________ HooliganGirl live |
Clearly, that UIC is not among those on this forum, although we are not an official ruling source.
Both OP situations are accidental, reinforced by both fielders making a further attempt on the same runner. The timing suggest by Youngump, if close enough to a deliberate move to the base seems appropriate if ITUJ there was no time to say it before. |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Was this game played under a rule set that specifies the appeal must be executed by a player? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
There's an interesting (using the term loosely) discussion on this same play on the baseball board. There seems to be disagreement (including by me) regarding whether a catch is "a play" with regard to awarding of bases. A large contingent says it is not, and that the "first play by an infielder" was the overthrow, so the award should have been TOP, not TOT. Thoughts? |
Quote:
________ The Legend Condominium Pattaya |
Quote:
Strictly for the academic discussion, does baseball not have an equivalent definition of a "play", being an attempt by the defense to put out an offensive player?? If so, how can the catch (which DID put out the batter-runner) NOT be a play? |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56pm. |