![]() |
|
|
|||
Plus they are on national tv (ESPN). Six umpires, the announcers, and the defensive coach that don't know the rules. How embarrassing. Not one of them knew that the runner is out at 3rd for the interference by the retired runner at 2nd.
Last edited by Tex; Sat Aug 21, 2010 at 10:25pm. |
|
|||
Rule 8.6. art 18. NFHS. Continuing to run bases after being put out may be considered a form of interference. 8.6 sit. A Case Book. Ruling,if the interference prevented the fielder from making a second out you can get a double play.
|
|
|||
LL doesn't play by NFHS or ASA. They have their own rule book.
LL rule is the same as OBR on this. The LL Instructors Manual says If the batter or a runner continues to advance after he/she has been put out, he/she shall not by that act alone be considered as confusing, hindering or impending the fielders. Which is a direct lift from OBR Rule 7.09(e) Comment: If the batter or a runner continues to advance after he has been put out, he shall not by that act alone be considered as confusing, hindering or impeding the fielders. The umpires got it right.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong Last edited by Rich Ives; Sun Aug 22, 2010 at 08:24am. |
|
|||
If that is the case, then they still didnt get it right because they called the runner who was put out for interference, took the run off the board and put the runner back at 3rd. By the way that rule reads then their initial call of nothing should have stood.
|
|
|||
The umpires had it right. Whoever overruled it was wrong.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
MigoP: The NFHS rule is 8-6-18 After being declared out ... a runner continues to run and drawing a throw is considered a form of interference. The ball is dead and the runner closest to home plate at the time of interference shall be declared out.
Rich Ives: I agree with RKBUmp, why did the runner who scored go back to 3rd? Also interference was called by the umpires because of the throw. Where is the out that goes with this interference? The umpires still made an incorrect call. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Interesting play in Penn St.-Florida game | bas2456 | Basketball | 17 | Thu Mar 26, 2009 01:10pm |
Controversial Ending in Florida Playoff Game | TXMike | Football | 28 | Fri Dec 12, 2008 03:25pm |
NCAA question Re: USC/Florida game | ChickenOfNC | Football | 10 | Mon Nov 13, 2006 08:09pm |
Auburn/Florida Game | GoodwillRef | Football | 20 | Wed Oct 18, 2006 02:21pm |
Fun in Florida | dokeeffe | Football | 12 | Mon Jul 17, 2006 02:04pm |