The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Fed Illegal Pitch Option (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/58737-fed-illegal-pitch-option.html)

Tex Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:51am

Read 6-2-2 penalty and exception. The play is dead unless ball is hit.

HugoTafurst Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tex (Post 708075)
Read 6-2-2 penalty and exception. The play is dead unless ball is hit.

What if the ball is not hit but the batter becomes a runner?

Just wonderin...... I'm sitting in a waiting room and don't have a book with me but I don't remember reading "the play is dead unless the ball is hit"

I do remember reading something like:
"a ddb is signaled and AT THE END OF PLAYING ACTION" the choice is given (provided the ball is hit or batter becomes runner)" If ball is not hit AND batter does NOT become a runner_ it appears no choice is offered.

MD Longhorn Fri Dec 17, 2010 03:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tex (Post 708075)
Read 6-2-2 penalty and exception. The play is dead unless ball is hit.

Yes. Read it. You're ignoring about a third of that rule. The play is NOT dead if the ball is not hit but the batter becomes a batter-runner (which is the case after any ball four or any uncaught strike three (unless... you know)).

To Andy - if batter did not become baserunner, you can't give that baserunner third base - to Tex's point, if this was not ball four or an uncaught 3rd (with 2 outs here since your runner's at 1st), the play IS dead as soon as it's not hit... so there's no steal of 2nd, no advance to third - ball was dead the whole time.

HugoTafurst Wed Feb 02, 2011 02:17pm

Back to the Original Question....... I think
 
Received the following in an Email copied to our association.
As I stated earlier, Our association was disgussing the topic and it was decided that our interpreter would query the FHSAA.
The following is the response...

"
XXXXX,

Sorry for the delay on this one...

For an illegal pitch, there can only be two
options for the offensive coach to choose from;

1. The penalty for an illegal pitch is a BALL on the batter and all base
runners receive ONE BASE.
2. The coach may choose to take the RESULT of the play.

You can not the two to come up with a better solution. In the example
quoted, the offensive coach would have the option of the penalty (a BALL on
the batter and the runner would receive only 2ND BASE). Or the coach could
take the result of the play (either a BALL or a STRIKE on the batter and the
runner would stay at 3RD BASE.

I hope this is helpful. If you need anything else, please let me know.
XXXXX
FHSAA

youngump Wed Feb 02, 2011 03:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 725240)
Received the following in an Email copied to our association.
As I stated earlier, Our association was disgussing the topic and it was decided that our interpreter would query the FHSAA.
The following is the response...

"
XXXXX,

Sorry for the delay on this one...

For an illegal pitch, there can only be two
options for the offensive coach to choose from;

1. The penalty for an illegal pitch is a BALL on the batter and all base
runners receive ONE BASE.
2. The coach may choose to take the RESULT of the play.

You can not the two to come up with a better solution. In the example
quoted, the offensive coach would have the option of the penalty (a BALL on
the batter and the runner would receive only 2ND BASE). Or the coach could
take the result of the play (either a BALL or a STRIKE on the batter and the
runner would stay at 3RD BASE.

I hope this is helpful. If you need anything else, please let me know.
XXXXX
FHSAA

Not sure how the question to them was worded but if they are suggesting you can give the option of the play when the batter does not become a batter runner then if I understand correctly that interpretation is in error.
________
Avandia lawsuites

HugoTafurst Thu Feb 03, 2011 11:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 725258)
Not sure how the question to them was worded but if they are suggesting you can give the option of the play when the batter does not become a batter runner then if I understand correctly that interpretation is in error.


Well, that's the whole point.
I think the interpretation is what they believe it should be.
It sure makes more sense to me.

Be that as it may, I'm in FL I have my answer.

HugoTafurst Sat Feb 05, 2011 09:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 725258)
Not sure how the question to them was worded but if they are suggesting you can give the option of the play when the batter does not become a batter runner then if I understand correctly that interpretation is in error.


PS: Here is the wording of the question:
"Dear XXXX,

If you have an illegal pitch, and the batter doesn't swing or in anyway become a batter runner, where do you put a girl that has gone from first to third on the illegal pitch. Do you leave her on third or move her back to second?

Thank you,


XXXX
Rule interpreter,
XXXX
"

Tex Sat Feb 05, 2011 11:21am

Supposed runner was put out at 3rd base. I have same answer. Penalty is enforced. Runner back to 2nd and ball on batter.

CecilOne Sat Feb 05, 2011 11:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tex (Post 726415)
Supposed runner was put out at 3rd base. I have same answer. Penalty is enforced. Runner back to 2nd and ball on batter.

But then the offense wouldnot want the "play" option.

HugoTafurst Tue Jan 24, 2012 05:04pm

Oh NO - Not again
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 726418)
But then the offense wouldnot want the "play" option.

Funny thing -
Same discussion came up again this year -
Those who forget the past are doomed to repeat it - or something like that....


In the where there is no B/R and R1 (from 1st) advances beyond second and
a) is safe at 3rd
b) is thrown out at 3rd

there are still many who want to enforce the IP by awarding a ball to the batter AND (a) leaving the runner at 3rd or (b) calling the runner out at 3rd.

varefump Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:26pm

Illegal Pitch with Runner Advancing more than one base
 
Has anyone received the OFFICIAL interpretation from the NFHS?

In my opinion, there is no choice given since the ball was not hit and the batter did not become a baserunner. I would rule a ball on the batter and award R1 second base only (ie. put her back on 2nd if she was either safe or thrown at at 3rd).

Our state (Va) high school asst. director for softball stated that whatever happens past 2nd base would stand (safe/out at 3rd) but I don't see a rule or casebook play that supports that ruling.

Please provide the official NFHS interpretation.

Tru_in_Blu Tue Feb 07, 2012 02:33pm

If the batter takes the pitch and you've already signaled/verbalized "illegal", is there a mechanic to stop baserunners who may be in motion?

Do you immediately call "dead ball? Or do you wait for the "play" to continue? If we can avoid someone getting hurt via sliding or being hit with a thrown ball, that's a good thing.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1