The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Safety base (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/58407-safety-base.html)

SergioJ Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stu Clary (Post 681999)
Even though F3 never touched the white (ie in fair territory) part of the double base and the throw did not come from foul territory? Please note: I'm not trying to argue, just to learn.

Thanks.

ASA Rule 8, Section 2M

Serg

Stu Clary Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SergioJ (Post 682004)
ASA Rule 8, Section 2M

Serg

If you're refering to 8-2-M-5, I disagree. That rule is pretty clear: "On an errant throw pulling the defense off the white portion..."

That didn't happen according to the OP:

Quote:

Originally Posted by illiniwek8 (Post 681943)
Runner on first.....batter hits line drive to second baseman who catches it and throws to first baseman who has her foot on the orange safety base.....

With all due respect to everyone, I still have safe.

JefferMC Tue Jun 15, 2010 12:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stu Clary (Post 681999)
Even though F3 never touched the white (ie in fair territory) part of the double base and the throw did not come from foul territory? Please note: I'm not trying to argue, just to learn.

Thanks.

Yep. Once the batter-runner passes the bags, it becomes one big two-tone base, either color equally valid for all purposes.

MD Longhorn Tue Jun 15, 2010 12:16pm

Um, Stu ... think it through. Are you really implying that a runner trying to get to first base FROM THE DIRECTION OF SECOND has to go to the orange bag to be safe? Logically, does that make any sense to you?

The rule you keep quoting SOLELY applies to plays being made on the batter-runner heading from the plate to first. In every other situation, the bag is just one big bag for both the offense and the defense.

JefferMC Tue Jun 15, 2010 12:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stu Clary (Post 682005)
If you're refering to 8-2-M-5, I disagree. That rule is pretty clear: "On an errant throw pulling the defense off the white portion..."

That didn't happen according to the OP:



With all due respect to everyone, I still have safe.

The latest manual I have online is 2008, and in it this rule is number 8.3.M.7

Quote:

When tagging up on a fly ball, the white or colored portion of the base may be used.
Any time the runner can use both halves, so can the defense.

Stu Clary Tue Jun 15, 2010 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 682015)
Um, Stu ... think it through. Are you really implying that a runner trying to get to first base FROM THE DIRECTION OF SECOND has to go to the orange bag to be safe? Logically, does that make any sense to you?

No, not at all. But I'm not talking about the baserunner. I'm saying that the defensive player is off the (white) bag.

JefferMC Tue Jun 15, 2010 12:39pm

BTW... Here's the most recent [in]famous ponytail/shoelace post.

http://forum.officiating.com/softbal...tml#post445020

Stu Clary Tue Jun 15, 2010 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JefferMC (Post 682020)
Any time the runner can use both halves, so can the defense.

Is that a POE? A rule that I'm overlooking? Again, I'm not necessarily disagreeing, just trying to always get better.

MD Longhorn Tue Jun 15, 2010 12:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stu Clary (Post 682022)
No, not at all. But I'm not talking about the baserunner. I'm saying that the defensive player is off the (white) bag.

The same rule that is telling you that the defensive player must use the white tells you that the offense must use the orange... while that's obviously not true in the OP. You can't insist that half of the rule applies when obviously the other half doesn't.

The safety bag is for SAFETY - for a BR coming from home and the first baseman. It's not meant as a gotcha on other plays.

Stu Clary Tue Jun 15, 2010 01:24pm

OK...but please cite a rule that suppoorts that.

I have been taught that the orange base is used by the batter/runner when trying the beat out a ground ball OR by the defense when the throw is coming from foul ground. I can point to specific places in the rulebook that support those two things. Otherwise, the orange/colored/foul portion of the double base is the same as dirt to me.

Maybe I'm a bonehead, but I still have safe.

MD Longhorn Tue Jun 15, 2010 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stu Clary (Post 682034)
OK...but please cite a rule that suppoorts that.

I have been taught that the orange base is used by the batter/runner when trying the beat out a ground ball OR by the defense when the throw is coming from foul ground. I can point to specific places in the rulebook that support those two things. Otherwise, the orange/colored/foul portion of the double base is the same as dirt to me.

Maybe I'm a bonehead, but I still have safe.

You need to learn how to read the book. I'm not saying you should read it... you obviously have. you need to learn HOW to read it.

I'm not sure why you expect us to cite a rule that says "Don't apply rules that refer to the batter runner (8-2) to a normal runner". We're not going to be able to cite such a thing. But we keep telling you this rule applies to the batter-runner, and not the runner. I don't know what you want us to do to make you believe us.

8-2 says, "THE BATTER-RUNNER IS OUT"... then lists all the ways a batter-runner can be out. You're going to be in a heap of trouble if you try to apply rules from one section to unapplicable situations. We've told you repeatedly that this rule doesn't apply to a runner, and now you're asking for a rule citation to tell you not to apply rules from one section to a completely different situation? Next you'll want to apply 8-2-E to say a runner sliding into 2nd is out because they ran outside the running lane.

If you find anything regarding the safety base in 8-7 ("The RUNNER IS OUT"), please let us know. But you won't. The ONLY place in the rules where the orange and white sections are treated differently is in 8-2. Good luck finding something to support, "Otherwise, the orange/colored/foul portion of the double base is the same as dirt to me."

You say you just want to learn and get better, but you refuse to listen to anyone. I don't get it.

Stu Clary Tue Jun 15, 2010 01:59pm

Like I said, I'm a bonehead.

I see what you're saying. Thanks for the insight.

surf24 Tue Jun 15, 2010 02:29pm

My take has always been that the "orange" bag is only "orange" when the batter is trying to beat out the throw. Any other time it is just one big base.



In fact, just last week in a coed game........I was playing first and a girl was on first, guy batting hits a liner right back at the pitcher who caught it and I run to 1B and catch the ball with my foot making contact with the "orange" bag just before the runner gets back to the white........I did not intentionally aim for that bag---just the base. This is a similar play as to what the OG posted -- yes?

Dakota Tue Jun 15, 2010 02:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 682039)
You need to learn how to read the book. I'm not saying you should read it... you obviously have. you need to learn HOW to read it....etc.

I think you're over-scolding here, Mike. The treatment of the orange base as just another part of foul territory WAS the way the rule was called up until a few years ago.

Also, ASA does not do a particularly good job of stating that the safety (sic) base is just one big base for both the offense and the defense once the BR becomes a runner.

Even in the past when the orange bag was treated as dirt for "runner is ..." calls, the safety (sic) base was not directly mentioned beyond the BR rules.

The issue in the situation discussed is not whether the runner has to touch the orange bag, but whether the defense CAN use it for a live ball appeal. That is how the rule is interpreted (one big base), but please, in the ASA rule book, find a rule cite for that.

MD Longhorn Tue Jun 15, 2010 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 682056)
I think you're over-scolding here, Mike. The treatment of the orange base as just another part of foul territory WAS the way the rule was called up until a few years ago.

Also, ASA does not do a particularly good job of stating that the safety (sic) base is just one big base for both the offense and the defense once the BR becomes a runner.

Even in the past when the orange bag was treated as dirt for "runner is ..." calls, the safety (sic) base was not directly mentioned beyond the BR rules.

The issue in the situation discussed is not whether the runner has to touch the orange bag, but whether the defense CAN use it for a live ball appeal. That is how the rule is interpreted (one big base), but please, in the ASA rule book, find a rule cite for that.

Tom - if I was over-scolding, I apologize. :) I just felt like we were all saying the same thing, while the poster kept saying he insisted on believing something else but wanted to learn. My bad if I was over the top. (Not the first time, won't be the last).

To "prove" the point in ASA, you have to look at the section regarding the field (where the rule simply called the base a double base). It's just a base - same as all the rest except for it's size ... in every respect EXCEPT where specifically noted (meaning rule 8-2).

IOW - don't make the assumption that there's a reason to treat the base halves differently except in the singular case where we are told to do so.

Interestingly I do remember getting in a rather heated discussion at a clinic, back when the orange base WAS dirt, where I and about 6 others insisted the clinician had no rules backing for his assertion that the orange base was dirt. The only resolution we ever got to that was along the lines of "Just do what you're told." :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1