The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 03:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule View Post
B1 singles. B3 then bats out of order and hits into a 6-4-3 double play. The defense appeals the BOO.

ASA: B2 is out for failing to bat when he should have. The double play stands. Three outs, inning over. B4 leads off the next inning.
You sure? Playing devil's advocate here, but what rule prevents:

DP stands, B2 is out. Next inning... the last out of the PREVIOUS inning was B2. B3, who has not batted this inning, is up.
B3 does not bat next in ASA because B3 made an out which stood in the previous inning. Since that out (back end of the double play) stands, B3 loses that turn. You cannot have a scoresheet that both marks an out to that batting spot and then allows it to bat again.

B3 does bat in NFHS and NCAA, because that out is negated in both rule sets.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1