![]() |
|
|||
Short Handed?
A recent situation was brought up at our mid-high school season
meeting last nite. Here's the sitch: (ASA rule set) Team A has only 9 players to start the game. In the 3rd inning, Team A is batting with two outs and a player gets in a run-down, mis-steps and "tweaks" her ankle. She is tagged for the third out. Team A takes the field with 8 players (2 outfielders) and the injured player remains on the bench. Team A completes the half-inning on defense and enters the dugout to begin their turn at bat. Team A bats through the order and the next batter due up is the player who did not play defense in the previous half-inning. She walks out of the dugout tells the umpire that she feels fine and wants to hit. The question is: Should she be allowed to hit or not? The debate was whether she has "left the game" since she did not play defense and therefore cannot return to the line-up (Rule 4-1-D-2-f) FYI - Obviously,this was not a blood rule situation |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Left Handed Batter | btdt | Baseball | 5 | Mon Mar 09, 2009 10:48pm |
Batter switching from right to left handed | cas659 | Baseball | 9 | Sat May 01, 2004 12:02am |
One - Handed Set | rainmaker | Volleyball | 12 | Thu Apr 29, 2004 02:55pm |
left handed balk? | jumpmaster | Baseball | 8 | Tue Apr 20, 2004 08:49pm |
One handed set | Coach&Blue | Volleyball | 4 | Sun Oct 13, 2002 01:54am |