![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Thanks!
Thanks Irish Mafia and SRW. Yeah, the out on the interference was in fact an out on a forced runner. So even if the runner coming in from 3rd had already crossed the plate at the time of the interference the run would not count per Rule 5, 5 B 1 (I failed to make clear that this was, in fact, the 3rd out).
As far as the other part of that play -- the offensive team's contention that the deflection of the batted ball by the pitcher negated the interference -- is the responsibility of the runner to allow the fielder to make the play absolute? Or if it happens bang-bang should it just be ruled a train-wreck? In the case of a single fielder booting a play we got the "step and a reach" decree a year or two ago from the powers that be. Is that the operational guide to go by if the interference occurs on another fielder with a chance to make the play? On the play I'm describing there was quite a bit of time and substantial real estate between the deflection off the pitcher and the point of contact of the runner with the shortstop. So it seemed like a clear case of interference to me (and my partner who called it). --I.F. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Am I correct that his would NOT be an out for interference since the ball was deflected off the pitcher, but would be inteference if deflected off any other fielder? (Case Book 2.47.3(B) |
|
|||
|
It appears you are correct, Hugo. NFHS makes an exception when the batted ball is first touched by the pitcher. When that happens, the second fielder trying to field the deflected ball is still considered to be making the "initial play" and thus has full protection from being interfered with.
Why they have this exception...beats me. It sort of makes sense if the pitcher barely nicked the ball and it continued on in a pretty much straight path. But if it deflected off at some odd angle, the second fielder is likely to make a quick, unavoidable course change. I don't think that a runner who accidently contacts a fielder in this case should be rung up for interfernce. And, apparently, neither does ASA, where the interference with the second fielder must be intentional, no matter who first touched the ball. Chalk it up to another one of those rule differences that exist mainly to confound and confuse us! Last edited by BretMan; Fri May 07, 2010 at 05:54pm. |
|
|||
|
Other way around. If deflected of the pitcher, in NFHS the "initial play" on the batted ball continues.
__________________
Tom |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Walk-off Walk Situation | JJ | Baseball | 12 | Sun Mar 28, 2010 07:42pm |
| Interference call | Dakota | Softball | 3 | Mon May 15, 2006 02:48pm |
| Interference after a walk | largeone59 | Baseball | 2 | Fri Apr 22, 2005 12:29pm |
| Would you call this interference? | bobbrix | Softball | 12 | Mon Jun 09, 2003 02:31pm |
| Here's another walk/no walk decision..... | Jeremy Hohn | Basketball | 3 | Mon Dec 09, 2002 10:51pm |