The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 12:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Ok, it's been a while since I umped and last year I did coach pitch so this rule was moot, but tell me if I am right. If the batter did not swing and the hands were not in the strike zone and the batter made an attempt to get out of the way, hit by pitch. But since this batter swung, dead ball and strike called. Same call if the hands were in the strike zone,
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 05:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Al View Post
Ok, it's been a while since I umped and last year I did coach pitch so this rule was moot, but tell me if I am right. If the batter did not swing and the hands were not in the strike zone and the batter made an attempt to get out of the way, hit by pitch. But since this batter swung, dead ball and strike called. Same call if the hands were in the strike zone,
Yes.

Look at it this way.

Anytime the ball touches the batter's body or uniform it is a dead ball.

Now you identify any action by the batter and apply any rule which may apply. If there was an attempt to hit the ball, it is a strike. If there was no attempt to hit the ball, it wasn't a strike unless......

If the ball was in the strike zone, it is a strike. If not, it was a HBP.

No matter what else happens, there can be no play on the BR (since there isn't one), nor any runners (since the ball was dead). Other than what is posted above, there are no other "what ifs" to address.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 11:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Yes.

Look at it this way.

Anytime the ball touches the batter's body or uniform it is a dead ball.

Now you identify any action by the batter and apply any rule which may apply. If there was an attempt to hit the ball, it is a strike. If there was no attempt to hit the ball, it wasn't a strike unless......

If the ball was in the strike zone, it is a strike. If not, it was a HBP.

No matter what else happens, there can be no play on the BR (since there isn't one), nor any runners (since the ball was dead). Other than what is posted above, there are no other "what ifs" to address.
"If no attempt is made to avoid being hit or there is an obvious attempt to get hit by the pitch, the batter will not be awarded first base unless it is ball four." FED 8-1-2-b, Penalty 1; ASA 8-1-F(?). See also FED 7-3-2 ("A batter shall not permit a pitched ball to touch her. . . . The batter remains at bat (pitch is a ball or strike)".

The "no attempt" is pretty unusual, especially with a high-velocity pitcher with movement on the ball, but it happens sometimes with a lobber and a batter who acts like she was coached to take one for the team. And sometimes you'll see a batter turn a bit and stick a hip into the path of an inside pitch. But if you call it, be ready to defend it.

Last edited by Paul L; Mon Mar 22, 2010 at 11:42am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 350
So if this is a third strike, is she out or is it considered a foul ball?
__________________
If it's a foul on that end, IT'S GOTTA BE A FOUL ON THIS END!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Dude, think about that question. How can there be a foul ball when 1) the ball didn't touch the bat, 2) the ball is dead when it hits the body, 3) there is no play, can be no play, and the ball is not in play?

It is a strike. Period. Add one to the count; if there were two, there now is three.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by derwil View Post
So if this is a third strike, is she out or is it considered a foul ball?
Scroll back up a bit a read IrishMike's reply to the OP.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1