The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 30, 2002, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 476
Send a message via ICQ to SamNVa Send a message via AIM to SamNVa Send a message via Yahoo to SamNVa
I agree with Roger here. If it looked like F3 held the bag, you make the call and stick with it, no defensive appeals after the play is over. If you're not sure about a possible pulled foot, you immediately ask the PU ("Roger, did she have the bag?), then sell the call, SAFE or OUT depending on the PU's response ("No, she didn't" or "Yes, she did.")

In reality, the defense should not be allowed to appeal this call because it is a judgement call. You judged that F3's foot was on the bag at the time of the catch, and that judgement is not appealable.

Now, since you did ultimately change your call, your partenr could invoke rule 10.6.C to put R2 back on 3rd.

Rule 10.6.C The Plate Umpire may rectify any situation in which the reversal of an umpire's decision or a delayed call by an umpire places the batter-runner, a runner, or the defensive team in jeopardy. ...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1