The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 26, 2002, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
ASA. R1 on 2B, ground ball to F6. R1 bumps into F6 as F6 attempts to field the ball. That's interference.

But if F6 has already fielded the ball, do you call interference on unintentional contact by R1? If so, is your criterion different from what it is if the fielder is in the act of fielding?

Fed interpeter in NJ says baseball or softball, runner interferes with the play, call interference. But that's Fed, not ASA.

Different game, of course, but in MLB I've seen R1 steamroll F6 after he fielded the ball, with nothing called (not even a tag out in the tangle).
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1