The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 08, 2002, 08:25am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Exclamation oh, my !

Quote:
Originally posted by boldfacesun
I would like clarification on a rule that I also thought I understood from a coaches perspective.

Bases were loaded, 1 out. Hitter pops up just over second base, umpire yells "infield fly". The runner on 3rd base had taken off with the hit and she was trotting back to 3rd to tag back up. The SS, who caught the ball, then threw to 3rd before the hitter got back and the umpire called the runner out. I always thought that until the runner tagged back up, they couldn't be called out. Please clarify.
boldface,
The stating of "infield fly" by an umpire informs the base runners that they will not be subject to a possible force play at their next base.
It does not protect the runner from the runner's own screw-ups.
This was a very young age group I gather.
During such an infield fly, the batter is out, but the ball remains in play, whether it is caught or dropped.
mick
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1