The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 06, 2002, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Mike has provided us with the ASA teaching on "errant throw" as used in the rule on the double base at first. After several discussions here and on other boards (most recently on McGriffs), I think I may finally understand what ASA is trying to say...

The rule is not supposed to give the defense an extra long base to avoid what would have been a pulled foot to the foul side. Instead, it is intended to prevent collisions caused by a fielder (probably the fielder backing up the play - F9 or F2) grabbing an errant throw that F3 has missed and trying to scramble back to the white base across the path of the BR.

Therefore, if F3 pulls her foot & catches the ball, she must retouch on the white base.

However, if F3 misses the ball, and either she or another fielder snag it from foul territory, they are allowed to touch the orange base for the out.

Is that right?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1