At advanced school this past June, Merle Butler & Henry Pollard emphasized that the defense does NOT have an extra long base to make the play at first. A throw that was off-line from F6 that pulls F3 into foul ground - while trying to keep a foot on the base - did not meet the intent of the "errant throw" portion of the rule. The ball must come from foul ground.
There was discussion and a "commitment" to insert a definition of an errant throw as it pertains to this rule. The intent was not to give the defense an advantage, but the way it is worded . . .
We'll have to wait to see what appears in the 2003 rule book.
|