The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 09:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick View Post
Please provide a situation where a runner can score on INT on a fly ball.
With 1 out, R1 is on 3rd and R2 is on 1st. B4 hits a high fly ball over fair territory, which F4 is under, ready to catch. R1 ran on contact, not realizing it was a fly ball, and crosses home plate while the ball is in flight. R2 realizes that F4 will turn an easy double play if the ball is caught, and interferes with the catch, so that F4 is unable to catch the ball.

Since the inteference rule returns runners to bases at the time of interference, R1 would score on this play, having crossed the plate prior to the act of interference. The ball was not caught, so there is no available appeal.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule 6 3O enforcement - 20 second pitch rule wadeintothem Softball 5 Tue Jun 30, 2009 03:33pm
Rule 1, The Forgotten Rule TxJim Football 14 Thu Jan 04, 2007 07:02pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1