The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ASA Rule Changes (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/54214-asa-rule-changes.html)

AtlUmpSteve Thu Aug 06, 2009 09:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Big Slick (Post 619190)
Please provide a situation where a runner can score on INT on a fly ball.

With 1 out, R1 is on 3rd and R2 is on 1st. B4 hits a high fly ball over fair territory, which F4 is under, ready to catch. R1 ran on contact, not realizing it was a fly ball, and crosses home plate while the ball is in flight. R2 realizes that F4 will turn an easy double play if the ball is caught, and interferes with the catch, so that F4 is unable to catch the ball.

Since the inteference rule returns runners to bases at the time of interference, R1 would score on this play, having crossed the plate prior to the act of interference. The ball was not caught, so there is no available appeal.

Big Slick Thu Aug 06, 2009 09:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 619194)
With 1 out, R1 is on 3rd and R2 is on 1st. B4 hits a high fly ball over fair territory, which F4 is under, ready to catch. R1 ran on contact, not realizing it was a fly ball, and crosses home plate while the ball is in flight. R2 realizes that F4 will turn an easy double play if the ball is caught, and interferes with the catch, so that F4 is unable to catch the ball.

Since the inteference rule returns runners to bases at the time of interference, R1 would score on this play, having crossed the plate prior to the act of interference. The ball was not caught, so there is no available appeal.

However, the BR is also declared out for the act of interference, and no run can score when the BR doesn't reach first base, no?

AtlUmpSteve Thu Aug 06, 2009 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Big Slick (Post 619195)
However, the BR is also declared out for the act of interference, and no run can score when the BR doesn't reach first base, no?

Two responses.

One, the BR didn't commit any act of interference; R2 did. R2 is out, and BR is awarded first base, UNLESS the umpire judges an intentional act of interference. So, not an automatic ruling; and many players could make the interference look unintentional, or at least put intent in doubt.

Two, to prove the original question, even if you add the judgment of intentional interference, simply change the play to no outs. R1 scores when there is interference on a fly ball.

Big Slick Thu Aug 06, 2009 10:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 619206)
Two responses.

One, the BR didn't commit any act of interference; R2 did. R2 is out, and BR is awarded first base, UNLESS the umpire judges an intentional act of interference. So, not an automatic ruling; and many players could make the interference look unintentional, or at least put intent in doubt.

Steve, INT on a fly ball, fair OR foul results in the runner AND the BR being declared out.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 619206)
Two, to prove the original question, even if you add the judgment of intentional interference, simply change the play to no outs. R1 scores when there is interference on a fly ball.

Yes, this would be the stickler. Granted that would have to be one speedster on third or the ball was it a mile high.

Dakota Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:00am

Whether or not a run scores before an act of interference is not an issue, IMO. The issue is did the offense benefit from the INT (e.g. a run scores that otherwise would not have - see the other thread on a runner using an act of INT to prevent being forced out).

MNBlue Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Big Slick (Post 619208)
Steve, INT on a fly ball, fair OR foul results in the runner AND the BR being declared out.

Provide rules support for this statement. I don't believe it is true 100% of the time.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Big Slick (Post 619208)
Yes, this would be the stickler. Granted that would have to be one speedster on third or the ball was it a mile high.

It's only 60 feet. Quick runners can cover that distance in 3.8 to 4.1 seconds. I'm short, fat, and slow and I think I can do it in under 5.0 seconds. :eek: :D :p

Big Slick Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MNBlue (Post 619210)
Provide rules support for this statement. I don't believe it is true 100% of the time.

ASA: 8-7-j.

NCASAUmp Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Big Slick (Post 619212)
ASA: 8-7-j.

This sitch was specifically covered in this year's and last year's NUS. If the BR interferes with the defense's ability to catch a fly ball (in fair or foul territory), the ball is immediately dead, and only the BR is out. All runners must return.

MNBlue Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Big Slick (Post 619212)
ASA: 8-7-j.

Quote:

ASA 8.7.j
When a runner interferes:
1. With a fielder attempting to field a batted fair ball or a foul fly ball, or
2. With a fielder attempting to throw the ball, or
3. With a thrown ball

Effect: If this interference, in the umpire's judgment is an attempt to prevent a double play and occurs before the runner is put out, the immediate trailing runner shall be called out.

4. Intentionally with any defensive player having the opportunity to make an out with the deflected batted ball.

Effect: The ball is dead and the runner is out. All other runners must return to the last base touched at the time of the interference.
What if it isn't an attempt to prevent a double play?

MNBlue Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 619213)
This sitch was specifically covered in this year's and last year's NUS. If the BR interferes with the defense's ability to catch a fly ball (in fair or foul territory), the ball is immediately dead, and only the BR is out. All runners must return.

I don't think Big Slick was referring to the BR interferring, I think he was talking about a runner interferring on a fly ball.

Big Slick Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MNBlue (Post 619215)
I don't think Big Slick was referring to the BR interferring, I think he was talking about a runner interferring on a fly ball.

Yes, I am referring to INT by a runner on a fly ball. I don't have my rule book at work, had to make a phone call for the rule reference. I believe there is a note that states: "On a fly ball, fair or foul, the batter runner shall also be called out." The latter part of the rule was added circa 2001. Only rule code to carry the foul ball provision.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Aug 06, 2009 12:50pm

Y'all need to "turn the page" and read the EXCEPTION to 8.7.J-L.NOTE.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Aug 06, 2009 12:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 619194)
With 1 out, R1 is on 3rd and R2 is on 1st. B4 hits a high fly ball over fair territory, which F4 is under, ready to catch. R1 ran on contact, not realizing it was a fly ball, and crosses home plate while the ball is in flight. R2 realizes that F4 will turn an easy double play if the ball is caught, and interferes with the catch, so that F4 is unable to catch the ball.

Since the inteference rule returns runners to bases at the time of interference, R1 would score on this play, having crossed the plate prior to the act of interference. The ball was not caught, so there is no available appeal.

Actually, I believe we discussed this play quite a while back AND it was also discussed by the NUS.

MNBlue Thu Aug 06, 2009 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 619231)
Y'all need to "turn the page" and read the EXCEPTION to 8.7.J-L.NOTE.

Ya mean dis one?

Quote:

When runners are called out for interference, the batter-runner is awarded first base.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Aug 06, 2009 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MNBlue (Post 619239)
Ya mean dis one?

And here I thought you had plenty of oxygen up your way. Guess I was wrong.

I clearly noted the 'EXCEPTION' which would be the next paragraph, COACH!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1