The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 21, 2009, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,592
another INT or DP stitch

Mens SP ASA rules, grounder to short, fielded cleanly then runner from 2nd (obviously not paying attention) runs right into SS. I immediately kill the play and rule the runner out. SS continues with his throw to 1st before the batter reaches. D wants the DP but I ruled the runner from 2nd out and awarded the batter 1st safely since he stopped running when I killed the play.

In hindsight I wish I would have waited and allowed D the chance at the DP but the runner was much bigger than SS and at first thought I figured he'd be knocked to the ground and never make the throw.

The SS asked for an explaination and his teammates supported my ruling so no issues.

How would you guys of handled this?
__________________
Do you ever feel like your stuff strutted off without you?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 21, 2009, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisSportsFan View Post
Mens SP ASA rules, grounder to short, fielded cleanly then runner from 2nd (obviously not paying attention) runs right into SS. I immediately kill the play and rule the runner out. SS continues with his throw to 1st before the batter reaches. D wants the DP but I ruled the runner from 2nd out and awarded the batter 1st safely since he stopped running when I killed the play.

In hindsight I wish I would have waited and allowed D the chance at the DP but the runner was much bigger than SS and at first thought I figured he'd be knocked to the ground and never make the throw.

The SS asked for an explaination and his teammates supported my ruling so no issues.

How would you guys of handled this?
I know my reference, but of what rule were you thinking that enabled you to make this call?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 21, 2009, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisSportsFan View Post
Mens SP ASA rules, grounder to short, fielded cleanly then runner from 2nd (obviously not paying attention) runs right into SS. I immediately kill the play and rule the runner out. SS continues with his throw to 1st before the batter reaches. D wants the DP but I ruled the runner from 2nd out and awarded the batter 1st safely since he stopped running when I killed the play.

In hindsight I wish I would have waited and allowed D the chance at the DP but the runner was much bigger than SS and at first thought I figured he'd be knocked to the ground and never make the throw.

The SS asked for an explaination and his teammates supported my ruling so no issues.

How would you guys of handled this?
You have to kill it when the interference happens. You can award the DP if you think that the interference prevented it. Nothing can happen on a dead ball so you can't just wait to see what happens and then rule based on that.
________
EXTREME-Q REVIEW

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:06pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 21, 2009, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
You have to kill it when the interference happens. You can award the DP if you think that the interference prevented it. Nothing can happen on a dead ball so you can't just wait to see what happens and then rule based on that.
And furthermore, if the INT broke up a DP, it's the trailing runner who's out, not the runner that they were necessarily going to attempt to get out.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
triple Play Stitch whiskers_ump Softball 22 Sat Sep 13, 2008 01:09am
Full vs. 4 stitch Behind Plate ASA/NYSSOBLUE Softball 5 Tue May 15, 2007 08:27am
Being bored stitch! thumpferee Basketball 15 Thu Mar 17, 2005 04:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1