The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 15, 2002, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 13
Question

I have question RE: this scenario but this
time it is the BATTER/RUNNER between HOME
and 1st. Batter hits slow grounder up 1st
base line that is fielded by the pitcher
who intends to tag batter/runner out. Meanwhile,
runner on 1st (R1) heads for 2nd. Batter/runner
stops to make pitcher come towards him to
buy time for R1 to make it safely to second.
Batter/runner then backs up towards home to
buy MORE time/distract pitcher so R1 MIGHT
continue on to 3rd. Does the fielder have
to tag out/throw to 1st or is the batter/runner
called out immediately when his forward motion
towards 1st stops/reverses? If he is called
out, perhaps that is what the ump in the original
question here was thinking and applied.
__________________
JW NJ
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1