Quote:
Originally posted by walkerbard
I have question RE: this scenario but this
time it is the BATTER/RUNNER between HOME
and 1st. Batter hits slow grounder up 1st
base line that is fielded by the pitcher
who intends to tag batter/runner out. Meanwhile,
runner on 1st (R1) heads for 2nd. Batter/runner
stops to make pitcher come towards him to
buy time for R1 to make it safely to second.
Batter/runner then backs up towards home to
buy MORE time/distract pitcher so R1 MIGHT
continue on to 3rd. Does the fielder have
to tag out/throw to 1st or is the batter/runner
called out immediately when his forward motion
towards 1st stops/reverses? If he is called
out, perhaps that is what the ump in the original
question here was thinking and applied.
|
The BR is not ruled out until s/he literally takes a step backwards. Failing to advance or even a motion toward the plate is nothing if the feet do not move toward the plate.
It is an immediate call, the BR is out, the ball is dead and all runners return to the last base attained at the time the "interference" was ruled.