View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 12, 2002, 11:49pm
hey blue hey blue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 10
With one out and a runner on first, B1 hits a ground ball to F4 who fields the ball cleanly. She runs toward R1 who broke toward second bases and decided to backpedal toward first base to break up the double play. My partner called an out on R1 for running backwards(in the reverse direction) in the baseline. R1 never left the baseline and did not interfere with any fielder trying to make a play. He simply stopped and backed up to avoid being tagged by F4. Was my partner correct on this play? If so what rule would apply? (ASA) As a side note, after the play was over R1 was ejected from the game for very loudly disagreeing with UIC call. Please give me some help. This player is going to corner me at the next game and ask me if I agreed with the call. What a mess!!
Reply With Quote