The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 01, 2009, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref View Post
R1 on 2B. Batter hits a ball to left-center. F7 overthrows the catcher, the ball then hits the fence and bounces right into the player who just scored.

I didn't think it was interference. I had nothing. Partner who is BU and on the grass behind F6 comes up with "Dead Ball Interference on Retired Runner" Then calls the player on 2B out.

I don't think he should have made that call. He said it was a textbook call and I should have made it. It bothered me .

What say you ?
Let me add (obviously without fear of contradiction)

1) It was a bogus call
2) Even if it wasn't a bogus call - it was YOUR call to make or not.

Assuming (hahaha) it was an honest mistake by your partner, I would mention it to your assignor - he can straighten the BU out on
1) Knowing his responsibilities
2) Knowing how to apply rules.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 01, 2009, 12:31pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref View Post
R1 on 2B. Batter hits a ball to left-center. F7 overthrows the catcher, the ball then hits the fence and bounces right into the player who just scored.

I didn't think it was interference. I had nothing. Partner who is BU and on the grass behind F6 comes up with "Dead Ball Interference on Retired Runner" Then calls the player on 2B out.

I don't think he should have made that call. He said it was a textbook call and I should have made it. It bothered me .

What say you ?

As the PU you are the UIC for the game. I would have told my partner to shut his "pie hole" and get his tuchus back out to the "C" position. I would have told the coaches that there was no interference. At this point I would put the runner on 3B if I thought my partner's screw up kept him from advancing to 3B.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 01, 2009, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Even though the call was wrong, I lean more toward call it if you see it, especially things like INT, OBS, dead ball;
because my partner can't watch everything.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 01, 2009, 02:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 257
yep time to use 10.3.C and correct it. As the plate umpire you have the right. Let him deal with the UIC later.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 01, 2009, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by vcblue View Post
yep time to use 10.3.C and correct it. As the plate umpire you have the right. Let him deal with the UIC later.
Sorry, but that doesn't work and 10.3.C is not a crutch for everything you don't like.

Like it or not, this is a judgment call and is covered in the rule book.

Talk to your partner? Absolutely.

Try to get your partner to reverse the call? No, try to force feed him additional information and suggest he overreacted and point out why you believe that.

Change the call yourself? Absolutely, not. Why? Because the rule book specifically states that you cannot.

Again, one of the downfalls of leaving 100% of the judgment up to the umpire, the rules become applied inconsistently.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 01, 2009, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Gotta agree with Irish, you cant just turn this.
By rule he CAN make this call.
We know as umpires he SHOULDNT make this call, but definately within his authority to do so.

You sink on this call on the field and certainly should be setting him straight (I would do so at the half inning and post game).. but you cant just overrule INT.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 01, 2009, 04:15pm
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post
You sink on this call on the field and certainly should be setting him straight (I would do so at the half inning and post game).. but you cant just overrule INT.
Which brings true meaning to "let's settle this in the parking lot". If a good discussion goes no where, there's always an accident waiting to happen in the parking lot. No, just kidding. At least do it away from everyone else. Don't need to embarrass yourself or the partner in front of the throngs.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 01, 2009, 06:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 257
Dam... My partner last week must hate me

Irish.. Thanks for the kick in the ***. Of course you are right.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1