The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   It bothered me. (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/53811-bothered-me.html)

Chess Ref Tue Jun 30, 2009 05:17pm

It bothered me.
 
R1 on 2B. Batter hits a ball to left-center. F7 overthrows the catcher, the ball then hits the fence and bounces right into the player who just scored.

I didn't think it was interference. I had nothing. Partner who is BU and on the grass behind F6 comes up with "Dead Ball Interference on Retired Runner" Then calls the player on 2B out.

I don't think he should have made that call. He said it was a textbook call and I should have made it. It bothered me .

What say you ?

Steve M Tue Jun 30, 2009 05:24pm

That call should bother you - it's protecting the defense on a bad throw. If the runner did nothing to actively interfere with the bad throw, I've got nothing.

IRISHMAFIA Tue Jun 30, 2009 05:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chess Ref (Post 611649)
R1 on 2B. Batter hits a ball to left-center. F7 overthrows the catcher, the ball then hits the fence and bounces right into the player who just scored.

I didn't think it was interference. I had nothing. Partner who is BU and on the grass behind F6 comes up with "Dead Ball Interference on Retired Runner" Then calls the player on 2B out.

I don't think he should have made that call. He said it was a textbook call and I should have made it. It bothered me .

What say you ?

I think you should have ruled OBS on F3 and awarded the BR home. :cool:

Chess Ref Tue Jun 30, 2009 05:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve M (Post 611651)
That call should bother you - it's protecting the defense on a bad throw. If the runner did nothing to actively interfere with the bad throw, I've got nothing.

Thanks Steve. I tried to talk it over with my partner after the game, but he ruled it and so it was the law.:rolleyes:

umpirebob71 Tue Jun 30, 2009 05:51pm

The way I see it, he had no business fishing in your pond.

SethPDX Tue Jun 30, 2009 06:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chess Ref (Post 611649)
R1 on 2B. Batter hits a ball to left-center. F7 overthrows the catcher, the ball then hits the fence and bounces right into the player who just scored.

I didn't think it was interference. I had nothing. Partner who is BU and on the grass behind F6 comes up with "Dead Ball Interference on Retired Runner" Then calls the player on 2B out.

I don't think he should have made that call. He said it was a textbook call and I should have made it. It bothered me .

What say you ?

How dare that player get in the way of a poor throw by the defense? Without the interference, the ball may have kept rolling away from F2 and the runner on 2B could have gone to 3rd. :cool:

Sounds like a textbook example of your partner getting up in your business.

Steve M Tue Jun 30, 2009 06:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpirebob71 (Post 611659)
The way I see it, he had no business fishing in your pond.

That's a whole 'nother event. I agree.

Ref Ump Welsch Tue Jun 30, 2009 08:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chess Ref (Post 611649)
I didn't think it was interference. I had nothing. Partner who is BU and on the grass behind F6 comes up with "Dead Ball Interference on Retired Runner" Then calls the player on 2B out.

Did he offer an explanation as to who the h*ll is the retired runner? :confused: In other words, he had no play by making this kind of call! :mad:

Rich Tue Jun 30, 2009 08:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chess Ref (Post 611649)
R1 on 2B. Batter hits a ball to left-center. F7 overthrows the catcher, the ball then hits the fence and bounces right into the player who just scored.

I didn't think it was interference. I had nothing. Partner who is BU and on the grass behind F6 comes up with "Dead Ball Interference on Retired Runner" Then calls the player on 2B out.

I don't think he should have made that call. He said it was a textbook call and I should have made it. It bothered me .

What say you ?

I say "thank goodness" that I don't work with idiots like the base umpire in this game.

wadeintothem Tue Jun 30, 2009 11:25pm

Thats pretty much horrible. It shouldve bothered you big time.

kcg NC2Ablu Wed Jul 01, 2009 07:38am

yeah it would bother me too if I was working with this moron. how did you handle that ? Im sure the coaches were going nuts

Skahtboi Wed Jul 01, 2009 10:20am

Heck. This call is bothering me, and I wasn't even there! :D

HugoTafurst Wed Jul 01, 2009 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chess Ref (Post 611649)
R1 on 2B. Batter hits a ball to left-center. F7 overthrows the catcher, the ball then hits the fence and bounces right into the player who just scored.

I didn't think it was interference. I had nothing. Partner who is BU and on the grass behind F6 comes up with "Dead Ball Interference on Retired Runner" Then calls the player on 2B out.

I don't think he should have made that call. He said it was a textbook call and I should have made it. It bothered me .

What say you ?

Let me add (obviously without fear of contradiction)

1) It was a bogus call
2) Even if it wasn't a bogus call - it was YOUR call to make or not.

Assuming (hahaha) it was an honest mistake by your partner, I would mention it to your assignor - he can straighten the BU out on
1) Knowing his responsibilities
2) Knowing how to apply rules.

Welpe Wed Jul 01, 2009 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi (Post 611762)
Heck. This call is bothering me, and I wasn't even there! :D

No kidding. It makes me want to scratch that partner and I'll probably never work with him. Sorry you had to suffer working with that guy, Chess Ref.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jul 01, 2009 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chess Ref (Post 611649)
R1 on 2B. Batter hits a ball to left-center. F7 overthrows the catcher, the ball then hits the fence and bounces right into the player who just scored.

I didn't think it was interference. I had nothing. Partner who is BU and on the grass behind F6 comes up with "Dead Ball Interference on Retired Runner" Then calls the player on 2B out.

I don't think he should have made that call. He said it was a textbook call and I should have made it. It bothered me .

What say you ?


As the PU you are the UIC for the game. I would have told my partner to shut his "pie hole" and get his tuchus back out to the "C" position. I would have told the coaches that there was no interference. At this point I would put the runner on 3B if I thought my partner's screw up kept him from advancing to 3B.

MTD, Sr.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1