The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Interesting situtation...opinions please. (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/53781-interesting-situtation-opinions-please.html)

bkbjones Sun Jun 28, 2009 06:57pm

Rule 10.1 doesn't apply if there is a rule in place to cover the sitch. The God rule is there to cover anything not specifically covered by the rules. I have used the God rule twice in 34 years. The rule book (and rules supplement) may not be 100% foolproof (after all, if it were 100% foolproof we wouldn't have a need for this board). If the batter is automatically credited with a run, he can't be called out. (Well, I guess he could if he maliciously creamed the first baseman, but...)

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jun 28, 2009 08:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkbjones (Post 611200)
(Well, I guess he could if he maliciously creamed the first baseman, but...)

Actually, he cannot in that case. There was an attempted change a couple years ago trying to make unsportsmanlike conduct by an active runner an out in ASA. It went nowhere.

CecilOne Mon Jun 29, 2009 08:50am

Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
Ball into dead ball territory


BR reached 1st if passing the runner at 1st.

Quote:

Originally Posted by gumpire (Post 611172)
Don't see where it matters if BR reached 1st in the ruling....he/she passed the preceeding runner and is OUT.

Just that it is a timing play, not a "BR did not reach 1st" out that prevents anyone from scoring. IOW, R1 might have scored from 3rd before the out (if there had been an out).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1