The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 09, 2002, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Midwest
Posts: 386
Last night, 12 & Under, ASA, batter has 0-2 count, swings and fouls off third pitch that clearly hits her hands. Call dead ball batter out. I know the call is correct but coach does not agree. After game coach very politely, and with more class than some in past have, comes out to where we are parked and asks to see the rule. No problem. I find the rule. Rule 7 Section 6 A.."When the third strike is swung at and the pitched ball touches any part of the batter person....The batter is out. My question...I thought their was somewhere else in the book that states something to the effect that on the first or second strike a ball hitting the batters hands during a swing is simple a dead ball/foul ball. Can someone point that location out or am I thinking of a past years rule book?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 09, 2002, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 18
I think the rule is any batter hit with the ball in the strike zone or while striking at the ball is a dead ball, no runners may advance and the batter is not awarded first base. I am not aware of anywhere in the rules there is the wording your are looking for.

Wolfy
__________________
Wolfy
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 09, 2002, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
I believe you are looking for Rule 7, Section 4, probably Article G or H or somewhere around there. It deals with a "Strike called on the batter" when the batter swings, missed, and the ball touches any part of the batter. By the way, that's not a foul when the ball hits the batter's hand(s), it is just a dead ball & a strike.

Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 09, 2002, 05:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Gulf Coast of TX to Destin Fl
Posts: 988
Bandit.........

You might also look at ASA 8-1-F.......and Steve nailed it with 7-4-(G & H)...........

Steve's ability to quote rules (even though he might not hit it perfectly every time) without a rulebook made me learn many of the most common rule #'s.........

This has been a HUGE help stopping many a coaches question regarding rule questions..........

This past year I have been able to say........."Coach......I am pretty sure you can find that in 8-8-J, or in 8-7-F, etc/etc........"

Gives em something to chew on......and almost always shuts em' up............grin

Joel



Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 09, 2002, 07:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Thanks, Joel. That's why I learned the book, too. Some time ago, my district FP UIC - Jim Sheltman - continually amazed me as he was able to cite the rule whenever the need came up. He retired after a severe stroke and I've stepped into his role - unofficially because we now have a single UIC who handles FP & SP.

Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 09, 2002, 07:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Gulf Coast of TX to Destin Fl
Posts: 988
Cool Knowing the rules............

Steve............

One of the things that I first noticed when I first started frequenting the boards 3 or so years ago was your ability to get close to the rules you were quoting.........even though you did not have your book with you.......

I finally figured out how you did it..............I should have asked earlier..........

ASA lays their book out so nicely..............as in:

i.e. - The batter is out, 7-6
The batter-runner is out, 8-2
The batter becomes a batter runner, 8-1
Runner is not out, 8-9

Those are just a few of the ones that are plastered in my noggin..........grin

As many here.........I can say that because of these boards...........I am a much better umpire..........granted........I have always been a bit of a rules geek..........but this media has made me even a better geek than I could have ever been..............

Joel
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 10, 2002, 08:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Midwest
Posts: 386
Thanks...perfect

Thanks guys. Rule 8 Section 1 F, 2..Is the wording I was looking for.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 10, 2002, 10:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 858
Hit Batter During Swing

Definately a strike, look at ASA 8-1-Fand Steve was on target with 7-4-(G & H).

Also Gulf Coast Blue's comment about the ability to quote rules can be a real argument stopper. It's helped me a few times.

Michael
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1