![]() |
Last night, 12 & Under, ASA, batter has 0-2 count, swings and fouls off third pitch that clearly hits her hands. Call dead ball batter out. I know the call is correct but coach does not agree. After game coach very politely, and with more class than some in past have, comes out to where we are parked and asks to see the rule. No problem. I find the rule. Rule 7 Section 6 A.."When the third strike is swung at and the pitched ball touches any part of the batter person....The batter is out. My question...I thought their was somewhere else in the book that states something to the effect that on the first or second strike a ball hitting the batters hands during a swing is simple a dead ball/foul ball. Can someone point that location out or am I thinking of a past years rule book?
|
I think the rule is any batter hit with the ball in the strike zone or while striking at the ball is a dead ball, no runners may advance and the batter is not awarded first base. I am not aware of anywhere in the rules there is the wording your are looking for.
Wolfy |
I believe you are looking for Rule 7, Section 4, probably Article G or H or somewhere around there. It deals with a "Strike called on the batter" when the batter swings, missed, and the ball touches any part of the batter. By the way, that's not a foul when the ball hits the batter's hand(s), it is just a dead ball & a strike.
Steve M |
Bandit.........
You might also look at ASA 8-1-F.......and Steve nailed it with 7-4-(G & H)........... Steve's ability to quote rules (even though he might not hit it perfectly every time) without a rulebook <b>made</b> me learn many of the most common rule #'s......... This has been a <b>HUGE</b> help stopping many a coaches question regarding rule questions.......... This past year I have been able to say........."Coach......I am pretty sure you can find that in 8-8-J, or in 8-7-F, etc/etc........" Gives em something to chew on......and almost always shuts em' up............grin Joel |
Thanks, Joel. That's why I learned the book, too. Some time ago, my district FP UIC - Jim Sheltman - continually amazed me as he was able to cite the rule whenever the need came up. He retired after a severe stroke and I've stepped into his role - unofficially because we now have a single UIC who handles FP & SP.
Steve M |
Knowing the rules............
Steve............
One of the things that I first noticed when I first started frequenting the boards 3 or so years ago was your ability to get close to the rules you were quoting.........<b>even though you did not have your book with you</b>....... I finally figured out how you did it..............I should have asked earlier..........:D ASA lays their book out so nicely..............as in: i.e. - The batter is out, 7-6 The batter-runner is out, 8-2 The batter becomes a batter runner, 8-1 Runner is not out, 8-9 Those are just a few of the ones that are plastered in my noggin..........grin As many here.........I can say that because of these boards...........I am a much better umpire..........granted........I have always been a bit of a rules geek..........but this media has made me even a better geek than I could have ever been..............:D Joel |
Thanks...perfect
Thanks guys. Rule 8 Section 1 F, 2..Is the wording I was looking for.
|
Hit Batter During Swing
Definately a strike, look at ASA 8-1-Fand Steve was on target with 7-4-(G & H).
Also Gulf Coast Blue's comment about the ability to quote rules can be a real argument stopper. It's helped me a few times. Michael |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35am. |