![]() |
|
|||
From ASA UIC clinic in 2006
SITUATION 13: B1 hits a grounder to F6 who fields the ball and makes an errant throw to F3, pulling F3 down the line towards home. B1 is running legally in the running lane and crashes into F3 a split second after F3 catches the throw. Both R1 and F3 fall to the ground and F3 tags R1 before reaching first base. RULING: Since F3 had possession of the ball before contact and R1 had no time to alter their path before the collision, this is neither obstruction nor interference. This is what is commonly referred to as a “train wreck.” R1 is out on the tag. Rule 8 Section 5B & Section 7B This did not happen in the video. The catcher was on the line, the runner ran straight into the catcher who got the ball at least a split second before contact. The runner never slowed up, never moved to avoid the catcher. Cloverdale, I'm from Michigan: you have to represent better. ![]() Whenever you see this play in the future, even if the catcher does not have the ball, the runner can not run through the defensive player. It is called malicious contact in Fed and flagrant contact in ASA. No ifs, and, or buts apply. Train wreck happens when two objects (players in our situation) are going in two different directions and collide where there was no chance (at that precise moment) for the two objects to avoid each other (at that precise moment). |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Home Plate | Stripes33 | Softball | 2 | Mon Aug 07, 2006 10:27am |
OBS at home plate (again!) | Antonella | Softball | 5 | Thu Aug 04, 2005 03:53pm |
Coed slopitch and the plate line vs home plate | SactoBlue | Softball | 14 | Thu Oct 28, 2004 11:42am |
home plate | coachz | Softball | 13 | Tue Jul 29, 2003 03:15pm |
Home Plate | bladeoperator | Softball | 8 | Wed May 28, 2003 08:29pm |