The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 03, 2002, 10:47am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,599
I think I blew this play and would welcome a ruling using NFHS Fastpitch Rules.

Girls' 14U, one umpire (and the temperature was close to 100F, meaning my brain was fried by the time the game was half way over), and this play took place in the fifth inning of a seven inning game.

Runner on first base attempts to steal second. The catcher makes the throw to second which was caught by the shortstop. I tried to get out into the diamond as quick as I could and from my position determined that the runner was safe and signaled very loudly that she was safe. The shortstop immediately throw the ball to the pitcher who was not in the pitching circle. At this point the runner must have thought that she was out and proceeds to walk back toward her team's dugout (on the first base side) at which point her first base coach tells her that she is safe. The runner thens starts to run toward first base while the pitcher who is still not in the pitching circle throws the ball to first base. The runner beats the throw to first base. I the runner stay at first base and told the pitcher to pitch to the batter.

What is the correct ruling?
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 03, 2002, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 207
As long as you think she wasn't running the base backwards to make a travesty of the game, your call was correct.

Given her reaction, it's quite possible that a tag was applied at 2nd. She was probably happy just to end up on a base and not in the dugout.

-Kono
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 03, 2002, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 190
Talking

Sounds like the correct call from where I am sitting.

Bob
__________________
Bob
Del-Blue
NCAA, ASA, NFHS
NIF
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 03, 2002, 09:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1
correct call if she wasnt trying to make a scene
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 03, 2002, 09:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Gulf Coast of TX to Destin Fl
Posts: 988
Sounds good to me Mark.........

Unless you called her for travelling............grin

Joel

http://www.eteamz.com/sites/gcbumpire

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1