The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Poor OC (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/53185-poor-oc.html)

greymule Thu May 14, 2009 06:53pm

In an NCAA game I worked as BU a couple of years ago, a runner (advancing on a hit) rounded 3B as the ball came in to F1. F1 turned to see the runner stop about 8 feet down the line and then turned away as the runner began to retreat to 3B. F5 saw the runner returning, recognized that there was no play, and moved back to her normal fielding position.

I'll concede that I don't try to follow every runner back to every base after every play. But I did happen to keep an eye on this runner, even though the entire ballpark knew that the play was over and the runners weren't going anywhere.

In this case, however, the runner stopped momentarily in mid-stride one step before 3B, and with her left leg raised, pulled up her sock before taking the last step onto the bag.

The defensive coach wanted an out on the LBR (second stop after F1 got possession). My immediate impulse was to say, "You gotta be kidding." I then considered, "I didn't see it." But I decided on, "I thought she kept moving, Coach. Never quite stopped completely." He didn't pursue the matter, but according to the rule book, he was right.

I admit that I chose the ballpark call over the rule book call.

(NCAA's LBR is not exactly the same as ASA's, but it wouldn't differ on that play.)

Dakota Thu May 14, 2009 07:34pm

Wasn't the final out of a game in the WCWS or in the regionals several years ago a runner on 3B ruled out because she stepped off the bag to pick of a pebble or something?

IRISHMAFIA Thu May 14, 2009 08:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 602246)
Wasn't the final out of a game in the WCWS or in the regionals several years ago a runner on 3B ruled out because she stepped off the bag to pick of a pebble or something?

That was UCLA, but not the final out. I believe it was the year before where it was the final out when a runner on 2b had a brain fart and wondered off the base early.

And then there was the World Cup of Softball last year when the final out was called by the PU on a LBR violation that really wasn't. The reason it wasn't is because the runner was returning at a very slow pace, in reverse.

There is absolutely no particular rate of speed or direction required. If a player lifts her leg to pull up her stockings, some part of her body is moving, and if her motion isn't backward, it's forward. IMJ, she's good and not in violation of the LBR.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1