![]() |
|
|
|||
I THINK what ASA was trying to do was to allow the coach to preserve his right to return the pitcher to the pitching position later in the game by deciding to remove her DURING the conference.
If the coach does NOT do this, and completes the 4th charged conference WITHOUT removing the pitcher, then the EFFECT is to be enforced and the pitcher removed by rule. In this case, she cannot return to pitch later in the game. Taking the rule literally, however, says that once the EFFECT of the 4th charged conference is invoked and the pitcher is removed, it is by definition no longer a charged conference so there is no EFFECT to invoke. The 4th charged conference goes immediately "poof" right in the middle of enforcing its EFFECT. ![]()
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Howdy,
I will check back with you in a while as I have to run a few errands. Dakota, you're right, I love these. I think in most cases it is inadvertent wordsmithing. But the addition or omission of one word, sometimes one letter, can change the whole context of the passage. One of my mentors explained this rule to me a few years ago. When I return, I'll share that, and my spin on the current string. Ted |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Charged Conferences-FED | aschramm | Baseball | 28 | Thu Nov 13, 2008 02:21pm |
Charged Defensive Conferences | dtwsd | Softball | 1 | Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:08am |
Defensive Charged Conferences | tskill | Baseball | 16 | Mon May 02, 2005 09:34am |
Fed charged conferences | rrcoleman | Baseball | 3 | Sun Feb 17, 2002 12:52pm |
Charged Conferences | Dukat | Softball | 2 | Tue Apr 24, 2001 07:01pm |