The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 13, 2002, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I've been through this so many times in ASA that I don't have to look at the book.

If the catcher had the ball or was "about to receive the ball" (i.e., the ball was between the fielder and the runner, not up the line somewhere), and the runner remained on her feet and crashed into the catcher, then the runner is out and interference is called. (In flagrant cases, the runner is ejected.) The fact that the ball arrived just slightly before the runner does not justify the crash. The fielder (in ASA) does not have to be attempting to apply a tag.

But it has to be a crash, not a bump or running through the tag or something else. And if the throw draws the fielder into the runner, it's just a wreck. If ball, fielder, and runner arrive at the same time, it's just a wreck. If the ball shoots by the fielder and then there's a crash, it's just a wreck.

The one change that ASA made a couple of years ago was that they took out the word "deliberately" when defining the crash.

[Edited by greymule on Jun 13th, 2002 at 01:47 PM]
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1