![]() |
|
|||
Tom, I put that "(sic)" in there just for you!
Quote:
As an NFHS umpire, I assume that you have their Umpire Manual. I do not (I do FED baseball in the spring, ASA/NSA softball the rest of the year). If so, I would be curious to know what it says there about this play. That might be handy, too! By the way, this ruling isn't something unique to ASA or FED softball. It is a ruling common to multiple baseball and softball rule sets. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
There is a play in the NFHS case book that is very similar--
Page 50, 8.2.6 situation D. > There are no runners on base with two outs. B3 has a 3-2 count. On the next pitch B3 swings and misses. The ball bounces off F2's shin guard and lands in front of home plate. (drop third strike in fair territory) As F2 moves out to field the ball,B3 runs into her, knocking her down. Ruling- This is interference.......... > I would assume that any contact, on a playable ball, would be interference. I don't think it is only INT if she is knocked down Last edited by kfo9494; Sun Feb 08, 2009 at 12:07pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
The ball being over fair territory is not part of the rule, just that it is a dropped third strike. I believe the distinction is made because in any other circumstance the batter (or BR) has to do something "intentional" to cause interference if she is in the batter's box.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|